Home > Christianity, Faith > How To Love Your Neighbor As Yourself

How To Love Your Neighbor As Yourself

We’ve all heard the story of the Good Samaritan.  He was a man who helped out another who had been victimized by some bad hombres’ back in Biblical times.  Jesus told his story when asked by someone who his neighbor was.

This victim went ignored by a couple of other guys.  A priest wouldn’t give him the time of day.  He crossed to the other side of the road, perhaps thinking he was dead.  He didn’t want to risk being found unclean.

Later, a Levite passed by and did the same.

Finally, this Samaritan man passed by and investigated.  He found the victim alive and took him to an inn.  He took care of him and left money for him at the inn to cover his expenses.  This man was, according to the story, a true neighbor.l

*****

The thing about this story is that after loving God, we are to love our neighbor as ourselves.  We gain the meaning of this through the story, but do we truly get one thing?  The part about loving the neighbor as ourselves.

We tend to think that we must sacrifice anything related to ourselves in order to help others.  The problem is that if we do that, we leave ourselves in a position to get to the point that we can’t help anyone.

The Samaritan took great care of the crime victim.  He met his needs and did what he could to get him better and shape to live.  If he loved as he loved himself, then he took great care of himself.

The Samaritan, I think, was someone who loved God with everything he had.  He loved him with his heart, soul, strength and mind.  He focused on his relationship with God.  Out of this flowed his ability to love others as he loved himself.

How are we going to learn to love our neighbors as ourselves?

By learning to love God with all we got.

Do you love your neighbor as yourself?

  1. robshep
    September 22, 2014 at 9:12 am

    I think I do a solid job of loving church members, and friends. I’m not perfect but I try pretty hard. Where I struggle is with actually loving my next door neighbors. They are difficult. We are cortile and have made multiple attempts. We say hi, but there is no depth. I was convicted this morning because I keep praying for them to find Jesus, and yet I haven’t invited them to church yet. Gulp.

  2. September 22, 2014 at 11:10 am

    I try but fall short way more than I should.

  3. skacyoung
    September 22, 2014 at 8:19 pm

    Much easier said than done for me. I think I love when I am in a good mood but then again, I don’t act in that love. If I were that Good Samaritan, I probably would have been too busy or just called 911 then left. Sad but true.

    • September 25, 2014 at 6:01 am

      All of this is easier said than done, for sure.

  4. jonstolpe
    September 24, 2014 at 8:10 pm

    I fall short more than I care to admit.

    (See my post from a week or so ago: http://www.jonstolpe.com/2014/09/08/god-given-appointments/ )

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

