Home > Christianity, Faith > Why You Should Love Your Job

Why You Should Love Your Job

How many jobs have you had in your life?

My first job was helping my grandpa deliver hospital beds for a pharmacy he worked for after he retired.  He would pay me a dollar for every trip I took with him.

From there I moved yards, hauled hay (square bales) and worked in tobacco.  You haven’t lived until you’ve been in the middle of a tobacco patch in August.

Next up was being a bag boy for Food City after I turned sixteen.

I worked in a car detail shop, a saw mill and a bank through college.

My first job after college was full-time for a bank.  Then another bank,  Then my current employer the first time.

For one year, I worked three jobs before returning to my current employer.  I’ve now been there for twelve years.

I’ve enjoyed two of these jobs.

*****

My experience is that few people enjoy their jobs.  I never remember hearing from my dad that he liked his job.  All I recall is that he couldn’t wait until he was 52 and could retire after thirty years on the job.  That seems to be most people’s goal, it seems.  They want to do their time until they get to quit and do what they want.

How sad.

*****

We should enjoy our jobs now.  Some of you might ask how, in the same of Sam Hill,  we can accomplish this task.  After all, it’s a grind to get up every day and go to the salt mines.  At least, that’s what I seem to hear from a lot of people.

Well, I don’t know who Sam Hill is, but I’ve got some ideas, especially if you follow and claim Christ as your King.

First, whatever we do, whether we eat or drink or whatever, we should do for the glory of the Lord.  Our work should be a testimony to Him.  If we please Him, then we should be happy with our work.

Second, who we work for goes far beyond who our employer is.  We work for the Lord.  We seek to please Him more than any boss we could have.  Christ is our employer.  He just has us positioned in spots where He wants us.

Third, we can have as much, if not more, influence over people in the workplace that any other in the world.  We are there more than we are anywhere else in a given day and week.  We have more opportunities for people to see Christ in us there than in any other situation that we find ourselves in.

Finally, we were created for work.  Adam was given a job right off the bat.  Even after the Fall, man worked.  It became harder.  One day, it will be easier than it will ever be on this Earth.

*****

We ought to love our jobs.  If not for the sake of the job itself, then for the Lord’s sake.  What do we do if we find ourselves hating our job.  Run through this list.  Ask the Lord to change our hearts.  Things might change dramatically for us.

Do you love your job?  Why or why not?  What will you do to change if  you don’t love your job?

 

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. skacyoung
    September 23, 2014 at 3:20 am

    Col.3:23. Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men,
    Yes, I love what I do and enjoy being with people. There are times I am tired and worn out, but overall, I realize the grass isn’t necessarily greener on the other side.

  2. robshep
    September 23, 2014 at 9:48 am

    I do love my job. I’ve loved every job I’ve had in ministry. All of them were flawed, but every job is.

  3. September 23, 2014 at 10:23 am

    I love the job I do, detest the company I’m with. It’s not burnout, it’s a lack of respect or acknowledgement for the job that I do that makes it hard for me to love the position I’m in.

  4. September 23, 2014 at 10:43 am

    I absolutely love my job. I want to be nowhere else doing nothing else.

  5. Jon Stallings
    September 24, 2014 at 3:44 pm

    Hi Larry, I work at loving my job (sorry for the pun) – Being a bivocational Pastor I am torn between two worlds. I would love to Pastor full time but for now I work a “paid” job. I am working on changing my perspective. I also remind myself what it is like to be without a job. As I focus on being grateful I tend to love my job more.

    • September 25, 2014 at 5:58 am

      I think you have the toughest job, trying to work and pastor.

  6. jonstolpe
    September 24, 2014 at 8:08 pm

    For the most part, I like my job. Many days, I love my job.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

