Home > Christianity, Faith > What You Can Get For $19.99

What You Can Get For $19.99

Maybe they still have them.  I’m not sure.  I don’t recall seeing them lately.

Of course, I’m talking about the Ronco commercials.

You remember them.  You could get knives that sliced, diced and could cut through a can or a nail.  I think these were Ginsu knives, by the way.

*****

$19.99 doesn’t sound like much.  I remember when it could buy me a stack of comic books that I would read at least twice before the next month’s issues came out.  It wasn’t much then, but it was a lot to a kid who worked himself through college.

$19.99 used to buy more than two weeks worth of gas.  It was probably close to three weeks.  Now it gets me about a quarter of a tank.

There are plenty of things that $20.00 minus a penny can get us.  A t-shirt.  A decent meal.  A baseball cap.

19.99 isn’t a lot of money.

******

For some, though, $19,99 is a decent chunk of change.  It’s the difference between children eating and going hungry.  It’s a set of clothes for the school year.  It’s the water bill.

It might be what someone has determined what the Lord wants them to give to Him through the church.

*****

A widow gave all she got.  It might have been the equivalent of $19.99 to us.  It was all she had.  Period.

She may not have known what the next day’s meal was coming from.  She may not have known how she was going to pay the rent.  It didn’t matter.

She gave all she got.  She worshiped the Lord with everything she had.  She was happy to please the Lord because it pleased her.

Have you ever given all you had to the Lord?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. September 24, 2014 at 5:24 am

    I don’t know if there has ever been a time I have given everything to Him but I know there have been times I have given when I didn’t have anything more to give. but then I got to watch Him do some incredible stuff.

  2. robshep
    September 24, 2014 at 9:59 am

    Right now for me $19.99 would be amazing fun money. Our budget is really tight. I’d love to buy Monica the new Counting Crows album. As for God…I’m a work in progress.

  3. jonstolpe
    September 24, 2014 at 8:06 pm

    After going to Guatemala the past three summers, I can tell you that $19.99 has the power to do amazing things for people in third world countries. As Christ followers, we definitely need to learn to be better stewards of the resources God has placed in our hands and wallets.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

