Home > Christianity, Faith > How To Deal With The Blues

How To Deal With The Blues

We all deal with the blues on occasion.  Often, it’s right after something good has happened.  We climb the mountain and life has never been better.  The peak is awesome.

Then we have to begin the descent down.

Pastors often face this on Mondays.  They spend their Sundays pouring out to those they are called to shepherd.  On Monday, they may be tired and spent.  They are weaker than any other time of the week.

It could hit the rest of us at any time.  We get the blues.

*****

Elijah faced this.  He fought the prophets on Mount Carmel.  He won and came off the mountain on top of the world.  Then Jezebel called for his head.  He found himself at his lowest just a bit later.  He was ready for the Lord to just take him out.

What can we learn from Elijah’s experience so that we can beat the blues?

*****

The first thing Elijah did to beat the blues was to get some rest.  After getting off by himself, he laid down to sleep.  He had to be tired physically, emotionally and spiritually from tangling with Baal’s prophets.  Often times, stress will exhaust us and usher in the blues.  He needed a serious nap.

Next, he ate.  He had been focused on the fight to the point of going without food.  Then he fled for parts unknown.  He needed to replenish his stores.  The Lord sent an angel to deliver the goods to Elijah.

Finally, Elijah was given a new mission.  He traveled for 40 days into the wilderness.  There, he received a message from the Lord.  He was to go anoint new prophets for the Lord.  Elijah thought he was all alone.  He found out soon enough that there were others.

*****

Elijah was able to beat the blues with the Lord’s help.  We can most of the time as well.   We need to rest, eat and seek a mission.

What if we can’t beat the blues after doing this?  We need to seek out some help.  There may be something else bringing us down that needs to be addressed medically.

Have you ever had the blues?  How did you beat them?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: ,
  1. September 25, 2014 at 2:57 am

    Whenever I start feeling the blues, I know it’s time to focus on my physical needs. I usually need food or sleep. I’ve been reading about the importance of getting enough sleep every night and the negative impacts that come from not sleeping enough. “The blues” can definitely come from not sleeping enough. I also make sure I take one day to rest and relax. Great insights in this post!

  2. September 25, 2014 at 7:36 am

    I can’t ever remember getting the blues on a Monday. Usually I am tired but excited about the week. When I do get the blues I tend to either exercise or visit nursing home, hospital, or someone at home. It reminds me how much I have.

  3. robshep
    September 25, 2014 at 9:26 am

    It’s a shame that my favorite color is associated with being down. Why can’t it be a gross color like puke green. I digress. When I’m down I pray, exercise, talk to someone, and take some action. Sometimes I’m down because I need to confront someone. Sometimes I’m down because I’m tired. Sometimes I’m down because I need to ask for forgiveness.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

