Home > Christianity, Faith > What Danger Do We Face Writing And Blogging?

What Danger Do We Face Writing And Blogging?

An interesting thing has happened on my blog over the last year or so.  It was not something that I anticipated, but in retrospect, it should not have surprised me.

For the past three years, I’ve grown and maintained steady traffic to this site.  Some months were higher than others, but overall, I could count on the same amount of “hits” and views.

That all changed in May.  My numbers dropped dramatically.  They stayed at a low level until last month when they climbed back to near what they were in April.  Just like I cannot explain the drop, I cannot explain the increase either.

*****

A lot of bloggers publish their monthly statistics.  Each month they let us know how their traffic was, up or down, and certain percentages.

I don’t say this to criticize them.  We are all free to do what we wish with our blogs.  One of my favorite guys does this.  He even publishes his top ten commenters.  I happen to usually finish second each month.

*****

David wanted to take a census of Israel once.  It seems that Satan whispered this idea into his ear when he let his guard down or was not paying attention.  Remember, our enemy prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour..

The Lord was not in favor of this.  It seems to have really riled him up.  He gave David a couple of choices for punishment and David chose God’s wrath for a couple of days.

*****

My friend Bill the Cycleguy doesn’t check his stats.  I’m not sure if he has any idea how many people view his blog on a daily basis.  He may only know how many comments he gets, which are substantial.

I say all of this to say that we can focus too much on the numbers.  We may think about them much too much.  When we do, I think we pay a bit of a price.  Gaining knowledge of our stats potentially puts us at risk of losing our writing and blogging souls.

David sought the statistics of the census as a monument to himself.  He wanted to know how great he and his army were.  It cost him and the nation of Israel.

We face the same risk.  We can seek the thrill of greater and bigger numbers.  We can forget about what God has called us to do and focus on our own greatness.

We have been called to glorify and magnify the Lord.  Whenever we turn the focus on ourselves, we fight the same battles that have been going on throughout history.  We should battle the temptation of furthering our own glory and focus on building His.

Have you ever felt danger in looking at your stats?

  1. October 6, 2014 at 2:08 am

    I study mine all the time. 🙂

    • October 8, 2014 at 6:43 am

      Touché’. I see no reason to not check them. Just don’t obsess.

      • October 8, 2014 at 11:39 am

        I agree. Obsession is definitely counter productive. 😉

  2. Ricky Anderson
    October 6, 2014 at 8:17 am

    I don’t check my stats. If I get a single comment, a post is a success. If I don’t, my mom will still call me about that blog thing I wrote.

  3. October 6, 2014 at 8:33 am

    Ricky: I love your comment about your mom. Thanks Larry for the mention and i still don’t check my stats. I figure it is what it is. In reference to numbers: as a pastor I have to be really careful of this. Several years ago we were the largest church in the county. When I started saying this out loud we took a dive. Humility from God is a tough bird to swallow. Today, I am grateful for each person who walks through the door.

    • October 8, 2014 at 6:49 am

      There’s a fine line. Checking numbers can lead to all sorts of issues we don’t intend.

  4. robshep
    October 6, 2014 at 9:39 am

    Larry, my theory for my own stats is when summer hits stats go down. Mine do almost every summer. They then pick back up once school is in. I check my stats, but a lot less than I use to. Now I check for trends, to see what is resonating, and for humor. Some of the reasons people find my blog are ha-larious.

  5. jonstolpe
    October 8, 2014 at 1:15 pm

    I’m a numbers guy. I love to count things. I love to analyze things statistically. It’s part of my nature. The numbers help me understand how my writing might or might not be resonating with readers. I don’t think this is wrong. My primary goal with blogging is not my numbers though – it’s to glorify God through my writing. If we can keep this in perspective, I don’t think it’s always unhealthy to look at numbers.

    • October 12, 2014 at 4:01 pm

      I think there is just a danger. You can’t always avoid danger.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

