Home > Christianity, Faith > What We Can Learn From The Flash?

What We Can Learn From The Flash?

Last night was the series premier of The Flash.  Being a superhero geek, of course I tuned in.

The origin of the Flash is something that I have been familiar with most of my life.  Barry Allen is a what used to be called a police scientist, but now is a forensic analyst.  During a freak storm caused by an incident at S.T.A.R Labs, he is struck by lightning.  After spending nine months in a coma, Barry wakes to discover that he is now a metahuman with the ability to run at or near the speed of sound.

Mix in the fact that mother was killed when he was eleven and his father was found guilty of the crime. Barry was raised by a police officer and his best friend is the officer’s daughter, Iris West.  If you know your comic lore, you know that Iris West eventually becomes Iris Allen.

In the pilot episode, Barry works with the scientists who indirectly caused him to become the Flash.  He meets the man known in the comics to be the Weather Wizard, who is a member of the Flash’s Rogue’s Gallery.

The question that came to my mind was what we who call ourselves followers of Christ could learn from the character of the Flash?  I think there was one specific thing.

Barry faced all sorts of issues during this initial episode.  There was the loss of his mother.  His father was wrongly accused and rotting in prison.  He was struck by lightning and in a coma for nine months.  The girl he loves is dating another man.  You name it, Barry is running up against it.  However, despite all of this, there is one word that can best describe Barry Allen.

Joy.

Once Barry begins to learn to harness his power, he exhibits joy unlike any he ever had in his life.  He is truly exuberant when running as fast as he can.

This causes me to pause and ask myself if I exhibit joy in my life.  I’m afraid of the answer I will get if I really dwell on this question.

The Flash is one of my favorite shows already.  I look forward to seeing more episodes and seeing the joy grow in Barry Allen’s life.

Did you watch The Flash?  What did you think?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. October 8, 2014 at 2:52 am

    Awww…I missed it! I hope they have a rerun next week. I try to make people laugh, seeing them laugh or smile at something I did or say puts a smile on my own heart.

  2. October 8, 2014 at 7:30 am

    Didn’t even know it was on. Sounds interesting. Maybe I will try to watch it (if I can stay up that late). Got me wanting to see it though.

  3. robshep
    October 8, 2014 at 9:27 am

    I caught the end of it. They are replaying it tonight. I hope to catch the whole thing then. Looked awesome.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

