Home > Christianity, Faith > What We All Need More Of In Our Lives

What We All Need More Of In Our Lives

I’ve been on Staycation this week.  If you don’t know what  a staycation  is, it’s when you take a vacation and stay at home.  Andrew has been out of school for Fall Break, so I’ve spent it with him.

I’ve done some chores around the house.  I set a goal for getting a new record for steps during a seven day period and I’me well on my way to achieving it.  For the rest of the week, Jan and Lauren are joining us.

There has been one thing that I have realized that we haven’t really done this week.

Play.

*****

I think play is vital to our lives for a variety of reasons.

It is important for the creativity in our lives.  Our minds seem to relax and unlock our creativity when we play.

Play reduces the stress in our lives.  It helps get our minds off of what we are dwelling on.

Play gives us an incentive for living.  It’s much too easy for us  to focus on anything and forget the need and desire for play.

*****

I know Jesus laughed.  The Bible tells us that He certainly liked children.  I can’t imagine that our Lord didn’t play with the children.  I can picture Him chasing kids around while playing Duck, Duck, Goose.

Play is vital for our lives to be made whole.  It is an important component of life.  Without it, our lives will be a little bit emptier.

Are you playing in life?  What was the last thing you played?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: ,
  1. October 9, 2014 at 5:27 am

    I love to play. I get to see my grandson this weekend and guarantee we will play.

  2. Steve Y
    October 9, 2014 at 5:45 am

    I like the thought of more play. There are times that my tiredness overtakes my motivation. My wife and I took Tuesday afternoon off to go biking but it started to lightly rain so we opted to go walking in a new area we haven’t been. It was great quality time.

  3. robshep
    October 9, 2014 at 10:27 am

    I like to play. One of our staff core values is have fun. We try to have some fun throughout the day to make work more like play.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

