Home > Christianity, Faith > You Are An Ambassador

You Are An Ambassador

Have you ever been an ambassador?

I have to admit.  I have never given a lot of thought to whether I am or not.  However, while listening to a podcast (please don’t ask which one.  I’ve listened to a lot lately) it came out that we all are ambassadors.

There are several definitions of an ambassador, but the one I like best says that it is an authorized messenger or representative.

The podcast I listened to said that we are ambassadors of our own brand.  That makes sense to me.  We all have a brand.  I heard someone say recently that our brand is what someone says about us when we aren’t around.  Sounds about right.

*****

We are ambassadors of something else too.  Someone else.

The Lord saved us from being slaves to sin.  We are now bondservants of Christ.  Guess what?

That means we are ambassadors of Christ.

Everything we do represents Him.  Every conversation we have is an authorized message for Christ.

Paul brings this home in 2 Corinthians.  Specifically, 2 Corinthians 5:20.  He says it like this:

Therefore, we are ambassadors for Christ, Go making his appeal through us.  We implore you on behalf of Christ, be reconciled to God.

That’s pretty heavy, isn’t it?

You and I are ambassadors for Christ.  That is if we know Him.  The alternative isn’t too hot, being ambassadors for sin.

God makes his appeal to others through us.  God reaches others through you and me.

You and I are Christ’s brand in the world.  What message are we sending? How are representing the Lord?

Those are important questions we need to ask yourself?

What king of ambassador are you?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. Steve Y
    October 10, 2014 at 2:55 pm

    Great thought. I have never thought of the word ambassador. It puts a new meaning in how I should approach others.

  2. October 13, 2014 at 2:50 pm

    I pray I am an ambassador who represents my government (my KING) well. I don’t want to be an embarrassment to Him.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

