Home > Blogging > What I Learned From Walking 200,000 Steps

What I Learned From Walking 200,000 Steps

Last week I was on Staycation.  In fact, I dubbed it 2014 Fall Stayaction.  It was a good week where I was able to spend a lot of time with my family and relax.  However, I had one goal for the week.

I am normally able to achieve 150,000 to 160,000 steps each week through running and walking.  I planned to hit 175,000 steps until a friend at work challenged me.  He said I should go for 200.000.  Being the driven, competitive person I am, I took the challenge.

This meant that I had to accumulate just over 28,000 steps each day.  Each day I was able to do this, with a few days having more.

I finished on Saturday, actually hitting 205,000 steps.  There were a few things I learned during my week off work.  Here are a few of them.

I couldn’t hit my goal by getting 200,000 steps at once.  I had to break it down.  Daily the total was 28,571.  I still couldn’t do that much at once.  I got up and did a chunk before Andrew woke up.  I did another bunch while he was at football practice.

Hitting goals can be taxing.  I felt pretty good through Wednesday.  I started getting a little tired Thursday.  By Saturday, I was exhausted.  And sore.

Another thing I learned is that achieving goals should be celebrated.  I took Sunday off.  Well, I still got some steps in, but since I had basically gotten two extra days worth of steps in, I only did some minimal walking to stretch my legs.  I needed a day off.

It also takes a few other things to hit a goal.  Focus.  Persistence.  Single-mindedness.  Bull doggedness.  I was pretty stubborn about getting my steps in.  Toward the end, I wanted to quit and give up.  After all, whatever steps I got would be great.  But it wouldn’t be my goal.

Those are just a few things I learned while gaining 200,000 steps.  I don’t think I could write everything I learned through listening to podcasts and just plain thinking.

What have you learned from chasing a goal?

Categories: Blogging Tags: ,
  1. Steve Y
    October 13, 2014 at 1:41 am

    Really cool achievement. 225,000 next? For me , if it is a long term goal, it gets tough at the two week mark. I make goals like reading a certain section of the Bible, but something generally happens.

    • October 19, 2014 at 7:16 am

      No, I’m not doing that anytime soon. I would like to hit 40,000 for one day.

      • Gnu
        September 25, 2015 at 11:24 am

        How about a 500 K week? Do you think it would be possible?

      • September 25, 2015 at 11:45 am

        If I was off work and walked all day every day.

  2. April 30, 2017 at 7:39 am

    Great job!
    I’m about to do the same today!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

