Home > Blogging, Christianity, Marriage > Another Birthday, Seven More Goals

Another Birthday, Seven More Goals

Yesterday was my birthday, number 46.  I know, I know.  I don’t look a deal over 45.  What can I say?  I’m blessed with great genes.

I decided to quit New Year’s resolutions some time back.  I also feel like the new year is a bad time to set goals.  Instead, I’ve shifted them birthday to birthday.  I thought it good to share them with my good friends who read this blog.  Please hold me accountable.  Ask me how I’m doing on occasion.

First, let me tell you how I go about setting my main goals.  I use Zig Ziglar’s Wheel of Life to divide my life up into different categories.  Then I simply set one major goal for each of the seven.  It doesn’t meant that this is all I want to achieve.  These are just the seven most important to me over the next year.  So, without further adieu, my seven goals for the next year.

  1. Faith – I have developed a Bible reading plan for myself.  I want to read the Bible over the next 270 days.
  2. Family – I want to “date” each member of my family each week.  This means doing something special with each one of them each week.  It doesn’t have to be huge, just special.
  3. Wellness – I plan to run the Knoxville Half Marathon on March 29, 2015.
  4. Financial- I have a loan that’s due to be paid off in 2 years.  I would like to pay it off in 1.
  5. Community – Jan and I would love to have a true “couple” friendship.  I want to work on us having one.  I think this is important as our children get older and do more things on their own.
  6. Intellectual – I want to read 52 books by next October 19.
  7. Career – One part of my job has been easy to master.  Another has been difficult.  I want to be a subject expert in the difficult section by next year.

I realize that I have brushed these in broad strokes.  I could have given much more detail, but I just want to throw these out there for support and prayer.  It will truly take a lot of effort to achieve these.

Do you set goals?  How do you set them?  What kind of time frames do you set them for?

Categories: Blogging, Christianity, Marriage Tags:
  1. robshep
    October 20, 2014 at 9:21 am

    These are amazing. I do set some goals, but they stinketh compared to yours. Thanks for the inspiration.

  2. Steve Y
    October 20, 2014 at 8:35 pm

    I love your thoughts on this. Can I copy your thoughts?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

