Home > Christianity, Faith > What I Learned From Being Sick For A Week

What I Learned From Being Sick For A Week

Last week I was sick.  Not deathly sick or anything.  It was one of those deals where you don’t really want to know about what I was blowing and all of the coughing that was going on.

I had absolutely energy last week.  Most of you know that I have been walking and running for the past several weeks.  I couldn’t force myself to do any of that.  My step count dropped.  I had my lowest totals since July.

So, what did I learn last week?  After all, I decided that I needed to make this weird week beneficial in some way.

I began to look at my week as a metaphor.  I had some sort of virus, cold or bug.  I’m not really sure.

I kind of sat back expecting it to all go away.  I thought that eventually, I would just get better.  I was near the point of going to the doctor when I finally took some medicine that knocked it out of me.

I don’t think we treat sin much differently.

I think we believe that our sin will just go away if we ignore it.  We don’t think that it’s really all that bad.  It’s just a little problem, a little issue.

The only way to solve our sin is to address the issue.  The only way to solve it is by going to the Great Physician.  He has the cure, He is the cure, for our sin sickness.

I’m on the mend now.  I feel better than I have in a week.  My energy is back.  I was back to getting my steps today.  Same as tomorrow.

Have you ever found yourself coming up short trying to treat an illness?  Have you ever tried to treat your sin sickness yourself?

  1. October 21, 2014 at 5:42 am

    Hoe you are feeling better. I do my best to sefl-treat my illness. probably not always wise but I am cheap in some ways. 🙂

  2. robshep
    October 21, 2014 at 9:29 am

    It takes a lot for me to see the doc, so I try to heal on my own. Sometimes I even try to positively persuade my cold to leave. It doesn’t work.

  3. October 21, 2014 at 4:24 pm

    Glad you are feeling better, Larry!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

