Home > Blogging > What I Learned From Painting With A Twist

What I Learned From Painting With A Twist

Evidently, it’s “what I learned” week.  Yesterday, was what I learned from being sick.  Today, it’s from Painting With A Twist.

My department at work it part of a larger Operations unit of a division of our company.  Our Operations unit is beginning to stretch its wings a bit.  One of the things we are trying to do is have a quarterly outing.  Yesterday was our first one and we went to Painting With A Twist.

Painting With A Twist is a company that teaches you how to paint.  All of us gathered together and painted the same basic picture.  By the same basic picture I mean that every one turned out different, even though we were being taught by the same teacher and had the same model picture to go.

I have to admit that at first I was a bit dubious.  This type of thing is not in my wheelhouse.  In fact, I sincerely doubt I will ever try this experience again.  That being said, there were some learning moments for all of us as wet painted our picture over the course of two or three hours.

One, as I alluded to, is that we all have different perspectives.  Each of us looked at a picture and then painted our own best version of it.  Some were good and some were better.  They were all different.  It reinforced the idea that we all need to give each other individual space to approach projects our own way.

Two is that we followed a process.  My picture was of a tree at night lit by a full moon.  We began by painting the moon, then the sky surrounding it.  From there we completed the moon.  I painted a rock that turned out to look like a cliff with a tree coming out.  Step by step, the picture grew until it was completed.  It reinforced, with me at least, the need to develop and follow some processes in order to succeed.

The third thing I learned is that I need to be open to some uncomfortable situations.  We all like our routines and comfort.  However, to grow, we need to force ourselves into some situations that we normally wouldn’t choose.  There is no way I would have ever chosen, on my own, to attend this event.

The final thing is that we need to do some things that open up different sides of our brain.  We ought to see ways to be creative that aren’t in our wheelhouse.  I love working with words.  Art is not my favorite thing in the world.  How much better off will be having gone through this experience?

So, now I have a painting in my house that I have no idea what to do with.  I suppose I can put in the closet and pull it out every so often as a conversation piece.  It will remind of all of these lessons whenever I do.

Have you ever done something like Painting With A Twist?  When was the last time you intentionally put yourself in an uncomfortable situation?

  1. October 22, 2014 at 3:26 am

    I have done Painting with a Twist numerous times, all with the same results you had. Uncomfortable situations…Well there was time just recently I had to renew my health insurance…and apparently didn’t complete the application process in some way, so according to them, my health insurance expires at the end of this month. Oops?

  2. October 22, 2014 at 5:40 am

    You can always put it in your office as a conversation piece or a reminder of the uniqueness of every person. Then again, it just may help keep the varmints away.

  3. robshep
    October 22, 2014 at 8:24 am

    I haven’t done this. I have a lot of friends who have and it seems fun.

  4. Steve Y
    October 22, 2014 at 1:38 pm

    We have a Painting with a Twist literally in our backyard. None of us have been there. It looks intimidating to me as I am the king of stick figure drawings. Maybe I should treat the family to a night there.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

