Home > Christianity, Church > What Questions Would You Ask During A Church Search?

What Questions Would You Ask During A Church Search?

My sister recently moved back to the area after being away for the past nineteen years.  She is still trying to organize herself after the move.  I’m sure she still will be for some time.

There’s one other thing that she has to face now that she is back in a new town.  She has begun the search for a new church.  It reminds me of our own church search about three years ago.  I understand, somewhat, what she is going through.

I’m not sure what she is looking for in a church.  If I had to guess, I would bet that she lands in a church larger than ours.  I tend to want a church that is no bigger than two or three hundred at most.  Of course, I wouldn’t leave if my church grew larger.

As I have thought about it, though, I’ve realized that when considering a church the question of the size is probably the wrong question.

The question should be about where the Lord wants you.  Where can the gifts He has given you be best utilized.

Is the Gospel being preached and proclaimed that will speak to the hearts of both those who do and those who do not know Him?

Is the church dysfunctional?  It wouldn’t take long to figure that out.

Does the church care about reaching the community in which it resides?

Is the church serious about being in community with those who comes each week?

Is the church mission minded?

There are tons of other questions that should be asked.  If I was beginning my church search again, I would fill a page full of questions.  No one church would be able to answer them all.  But I would ask them.

What questions would you ask if you were going to search for a church?

Categories: Christianity, Church Tags: ,
  1. October 23, 2014 at 7:18 am

    is the pastor young and hip? LOL. Not a chance that would be a question. I would be shallow enough to consider the music a draw or deterrent. 🙂

  2. Steve Y
    October 25, 2014 at 6:52 am

    Right now in my life, I would look at the youth group since I have two middle school kids. You hit the other questions perfectly.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

