Home > Christianity, Faith > Are You Trying To Live Christianity “Correctly”?

Are You Trying To Live Christianity “Correctly”?

My friend, Eileen, wrote a post a couple of days ago.  In it she made a statement that struck a chord with me.

For too many years I had it wrong. I thought way too much about how to be a Christian, “correctly.”

I think that is a problem that I have faced for much of my life.  If it’s a problem from me, I bet that it’s a problem that many others have faced.  There’s just one problem.

What does being a Christian “correctly” look like?

*****

It seems that many of us have a picture of what correct Christianity looks like in our minds.  We probably have some similarities, but we also have many differences.  We take a snapshot of it with our mental camera.  Our own personal photograph becomes “correct” Christianity.  Others become wrong.  That is until we grow to the point where we understand that each picture may stand on its own merits.

My picture is no better than yours.  Yours is no better than mine.  No one person’s is necessarily right or wrong.  We’re all on a journey.  Our goal is Christ.

How do we do Christianity correctly?  We pursue Jesus.  We might falter taking a few steps.  We might take a few different paths.  But if He is our aim, we’re headed in the right direction.

Have you been guilty of trying to live Christianity “correctly”?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: ,
  1. October 27, 2014 at 1:26 am

    I can’t say I have. But then I don’t try to live by anybody else’s correction. After all who corrects them? 🙂

    • October 27, 2014 at 8:43 pm

      I’m not really talking about living by anyone else’s. We tend to put our own restrictions on ourselves.

  2. October 27, 2014 at 5:05 am

    I went through a stage a number of years ago where I tried to live correctly…according to what I thought was right. I was legalistic to the core and found it was impossible to always be “correct.” Chuck the SP (Spiritual Correctness) and live life in grace.

  3. robshep
    October 27, 2014 at 9:18 am

    Yes. I have. I hate how the two extremes in Christianity are legalism and apathy, and how most Christians fit in one of those two camps.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

