Home > Christianity, Faith > Are You Trying To Live Christianity “Correctly” Part 2?

Are You Trying To Live Christianity “Correctly” Part 2?

I got the idea for yesterday’s post from this post from my friend, Eileen.  I meant to link it, but forgot to go back and do it.  Sorry Eileen.

*****

Today I want to follow up on yesterday’s post.  Rob and Bill mentioned what I was hinting around at.  They brought up the “L” word…legalism.

Too often we grow up in a tradition where we are taught legalism.  We believe that we have to follow the rules, check the boxes, make the right steps to be right with God.

We have to live Christianity “correctly” to have any worth in His eyes.  This is one of the greatest tricks of the enemy, as He knows how gracious our God is and does everything he can to fool us into missing that.

Fortunately, Jesus lived life “correctly” so that we don’t have to.  And so that we can.

*****

You see without Christ, we have no hope.  We can’t live correctly.  It’s not possible.  We have no chance.  He looked at the Father and said, “Let me do it for them.  They can’t do it.”  And the Father said for him to go for it.

Now, though, the Father has sent the Spirit of His Son into our hearts.  It’s only post coming to Christ that we have a chance to live correctly.  Not through our own power.  No, now positionally, we are living correctly.  And through His power we are moving daily toward living “correctly” in reality.

So, no, I can’t live “correctly” on my own.  But I can when He does it through me.

What a glorious God we have.

Are you living “correctly”?

 

 

  1. October 28, 2014 at 5:30 am

    if correctly meant sin-less-ly I would be an utter failure. Since it doesn’t, I am trying to live life for Him with all its quirks.

  2. October 28, 2014 at 8:36 am

    Thank, Larry! Definitely agree will Bill. Thank goodness Jesus has a different idea of what “correctly” means.

  3. robshep
    October 28, 2014 at 9:59 am

    Thank God for grace. My correctly ends up leading to pride, arrogance, and judgment of others. I can’t even handle following the rules without jacking it up.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

