Home > Christianity > Why We Should Be Draft Horses For Christ

Why We Should Be Draft Horses For Christ

Many of you know that I’ve been running and walking a lot over the past few months.  I try to make good use of that time by listening to podcasts as I go.  I’ve learned a great deal through the many shows I’ve listened to since July.

This past Saturday I learned something interesting.  A draft horse is a powerful animal.  It is larger and stronger than a Clydesdale, which I though was about the largest and strongest horses imaginable.

A draft horse can pull upwards of 800 pounds by itself.  Maybe more.  That is incredible.  Talk about horsepower.

However, guess what happens when you team two draft horses together?  You might think that two can pull double the amount of one horse.  That would be 1600 pounds, right?

Well, we both would have been wrong.  Harness two draft horses together to pull as a team and they will pull in the neighborhood of 3200 pounds.  Think about that.  Two horses together will pull  basically four times the amount one horse can by itself.

*****

I used this example when meeting with my two teams the other day.

We rely on teamwork.  We simply cannot be successful in my job without it.  I compared my teams to the horses.  And no, I don’t mean to say they are horses.

When two of my team members work together, the results are far beyond what one can produce.  They produce far more than what anyone would expect two to produce.  It’r rather incredible.

*****

What if we were like that in the Church and in our churches?  What if we acted like draft horses?  What would it look like?

First, we would be equally yoked.  Too often we want to take pragmatic approaches to our issues.  Maybe we will end up there, bu that isn’t where we should start.  We should make sure that we care equally yoked with those in the Church who we work with.  Two spirit-filled, Christ pursuing believers can produce incredible results.

Second, we should take our gifts, strengths and talents, and team them up with others in our pursuit of Christ.  When we do that, we will go further and faster than when by ourselves.

We need to be equally yoked, Spirit-filled draft horse pulling in the same direction as Christ.  Our eyes must be seeking the same direction.  We need to pull together in unison and unity so that God will be glorified through Christ.

Are you a draft horse for Christ?

Categories: Christianity Tags: ,
  1. patchingcracks
    October 29, 2014 at 1:23 am

    Great analogy and a challenging post. Thanks for sharing this.

  2. October 29, 2014 at 8:37 am

    As a pastor, there is no doubt in my mind about the importance of working together. Incredible story about the strength of 2 horses compared to one.

  3. robshep
    October 29, 2014 at 11:41 am

    Great analogy! I think this echoes one of the themes in 1 Corinthians.

  4. Steve Y
    October 29, 2014 at 2:48 pm

    That is fascinating!! I never knew. I know I need to at minimum pull my own weight and encourage others.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

