Home > Christianity, Faith > What Is Holding You Back In Your Relationship With God?

What Is Holding You Back In Your Relationship With God?

Yesterday I wrote about draft horses.  Today, it’s elephants.

Many of us have heard about what happens to baby elephants that are captured.  A strong chain is attached to one of their feet.  The chain is then attached to a iron stake that is driven deep into the ground.  No matter how hard the baby elephant tried to pull, the stake does not come out.  The elephant cannot break free.

Flash forward several years and the elephant is now an adult.  A rope may be attached to its foot.  The rope is loosely attached to a wooden stake that is barely driven into the ground.  The elephant now had all the ability in the world to pull the stake out and escape.  However, it doesn’t.  Why?

Because it’s conditioned to believe that it cannot break free.

*****

The elephant story makes me wonder how much we are like that.  What are we conditioned to believe that holds us back when we have the ability to move forward?

How does it show up in our relationships?  Our careers?  Our dreams?

Not

only that, but I wonder how it shows up in our relationship with Christ?

What are we letting stand in our way that we have the ability to escape?

A few years ago my boss told me that I can do anything I wanted to do in my career.  Guess what?  He was right.  There’s something else as well.  I have the ability to not do anything I want.  I am my own worst enemy.

What we believe about God and our relationship with Christ was taught to us early.  It is like the chain and stake that holds the elephant in captivity.  So much of what we were taught is junk that truly keeps us from moving forward in our walk with Christ.

It could be how we view our earthly father affecting how we view our heavenly one.

It could be our parents marriage shaping our view of Christ and His Bride.

There are countless other ways.

What is our job?

Figure out what chain was attached to our feet when we were young.  Work to overcome those false notions that have been holding us back for twenty, thirty, forty years.  Realize that we have the ability to pull up the stake with no problem, no matter what our emotions are telling us.

Is it easy?

No.  Absolutely not.

Is it worth it?

You know it.

What chain and stake has affected you in your relationship with Christ?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: ,
  1. October 30, 2014 at 5:15 am

    For the longest time it was how I viewed God. I had the same idea of God as I had of my earthly father-distant, wavering, unfeeling, going to leave. The best day of my life was the day I realized fully such was not the case.

  2. jonstolpe
    October 30, 2014 at 5:52 am

    I have a chain and stake story of my own today on my blog. Funny how are timing and topics intersect.

  3. robshep
    October 30, 2014 at 9:38 am

    You are nailing it with the illustrations! I’m going to borrow this one for sure.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

