Home > Christianity, Faith > Why I’m Not A Baptist

Why I’m Not A Baptist

Several years ago I read a book called Why I Am A Baptist.  It was a book where several well-known Baptists discussed why they were still a  Baptist.  At the time, I was still firmly entrenched in my Southern Baptist church.

Since then I have left the Baptist world.  I’m not a Baptist anymore.

There’s nothing inherently wrong with being a Baptist.  I have friends who are still Baptist.

People can still be reached by Baptists. There are areas where and people who, perhaps, only Baptists can reach.  However, the majority of the world is not Baptist.  Many, if not most,  of those who will be reached for Christ will not be reached by Baptists.

Over the years Baptists have involved themselves a great deal in national politics.  While never admitting it, they have become known for aligning themselves with one political party over another.  There’s nothing wrong with affecting politics, however politics should never become the Church’s way of changing the world.

A great majority of Baptists have remained tied to traditionalism.  While the world is changing around them, far too many want things to remain the same.

None of the reason I’m not a Baptist are necessarily wrong or evil.  However, they can be road blocks to achieving what the Church is called to do.  And guess what?  What I left being a Baptist for is susceptible to many of the same things.  What I have become is not inherently superior to being a Baptist.  What’s important is following after Christ with all you’ve got.

Have you eve left a tradition you were part of for something new?  Why did you leave?

 

Categories: Christianity, Faith
  1. Ed
    November 12, 2014 at 2:07 am

    I left Christmas, but I didn’t leave it for something new. I actually left it because I don’t know what to get anyone else as a tangible gift. I know, I know: give them Christ. I am talking about things that you usually buy in places like Walmart.

  2. November 12, 2014 at 4:38 am

    Tradition, I believe is an unnecessary baggage. Imagine what would have happened if Abraham sticked to the traditions of his fathers?

  3. November 12, 2014 at 5:51 am

    i was part of the Shristian Church/Church of Christ tradition but left that when I could no longer preach the doctrinal narrowness they believed.

    • November 13, 2014 at 9:26 pm

      I’ve never know what that group believed.

      • Steve Y
        November 14, 2014 at 1:26 am

        It’s always been interesting to me that we read the same Bible but have so many different opinions and thoughts on how to live, salvation, etc. I constantly think about how I came to my opinions and am studying my reasons for different beliefs I have. I try to be accepting of others thoughts and opinions and really give their opinions a study. All that too say, and I really appreciate this open format, but I don’t consider myself a narrow minded Church of Christer. My request is not to put me in that box nor dog my church as I love God and am really working hard to get to Heaven.

      • November 16, 2014 at 10:45 am

        Amen!

      • Steve Y
        November 16, 2014 at 3:41 pm

        I guess I didn’t have enough room to write or articulate. I do go to the Church of Christ and do know what I believe and don’t feel narrow-minded. I feel that sometimes we put certain religions in a box and we tend to belittle them as we might disagree with them. I want to get to Heaven, too, and want to be respected for my beliefs.

  4. robshep
    November 12, 2014 at 9:51 am

    I haven’t fully left the Baptist church in that Next Level is baptist in the fine print. But I stay far away from the church politics, and denominational meetings. Traditions can be helpful, but like anything they can quickly become a hindrance.

    • November 13, 2014 at 9:26 pm

      That’s interesting. I thought you guys were non-denom.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

