Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > Do You Have A Poker Face When You Worship?

Do You Have A Poker Face When You Worship?

I recently read a blog post about how we act in church.  Specifically, about how often so many of us display our poker faces at church.  The post him home as I read it and realized that described most Sundays for me.

I will high five strangers and kiss their babies at a football game.  I don’t care to get up and act the fool at our quarterly corporate pep rallies.  I can act stupid with the best of them when the need arises.

At church?  I stand there and sing softly to myself.  Nary a hand will be raised, much less two.  A hearty amen?  Forget about it.  A tamer “That’s right!”?  They would have to pry my cold dead lips apart.

There has to be several reasons why I am the way I am.

It was the way I was raised.  My parents weren’t amen-ers in church.  Those folks were gently poked fun of.  I was taught that church was a time to be reverent.  Heck, I couldn’t even walk fast in church, much less run.

I’m a bit of an introvert.  I actually do like church to be quiet.  We visited a church while we were searching a few years ago and it was too loud, too rock ‘n roll for me.

I can be loud among a small group of friends, but the larger the crowd gets, the quieter I become until , you know, I get among 100,000 Tennessee Vol fans at a football game.  Then I can hide among the other idiots.

But here’s the thing.  I really am excited when I’m at church.  Often, fireworks are going off in my head.  Someone could look at me and think I’m bored out of my mind.

That’s they great thing about church and worship.  We all worship differently.  The folks in front of me who raise both hands may appear that their worshiping and I’m not , but that’s not the case.  I’m just worshiping my way.

So, yeah, I probably need to work on my poker face a little bit.  I want Jesus to shine from me the way God’s glory shined on Moses’ face.

Let’s worship our way and support the worship of others.  Let’s all shine Jesus’ light in all that we do in our lives.

Do you have a poker face when you worship?  Or are you expressive?

  1. November 13, 2014 at 2:28 am

    I’m like you – totally poker faced. But get me started talking or writing, and then it would be like you at a football game. Fortunately, Good knows our hearts.
    Funny thing though, I do like the rock ‘n roll style music, but I’m quietly enjoying that too.
    Good thoughts.

  2. Ed
    November 13, 2014 at 3:18 am

    I tend to have my poker face on at church, and like you I’m really quiet. We had this one brother once, and he would be part of the worship team. The guy had no expression in his voice at all. I felt really bad for him, because his heart was into it.

  3. November 13, 2014 at 5:35 am

    I am expressive. Didn’t used to be. First time I saw someone raise a hand I broke out in a cold sweat. Not any more.Decently and in order but be expressive (no running up and down an aisle, yelling out loud, etc).

  4. robshep
    November 13, 2014 at 9:24 am

    I hope I’m expressive. I have a few poker faces in church. Some seem mad during the sermon. They promise me they aren’t.

    • November 13, 2014 at 9:24 pm

      I bet they aren’t. They probably have fireworks going off in their head.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

