Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > I Just Don’t Know Anymore

I Just Don’t Know Anymore

I just don’t know anymore.

I’ve been in my church for a couple of years now.  I enjoy worshiping the Lord more there than any local church that I’ve ever been part of.  I love being a part of it.

There’s just one problem.

I just don’t know anymore.

I don’t know what my part in the local church is that is.

*****

Last winter I became our church’s small group leader/pastor.  I got off to a start and slowly began to realize that I had made a mistake.  I found myself having no idea what to do or how to be the small group dude.  I floundered for a bit until I finally waved the white flag and gave it up.

I’ve also been leading our covenant class for the past year or so.  The last three times people have signed up but not shown up to the class.  I’m starting to get a complex and think it’s not them, but me.

*****

For the last twenty years I’ve been a teacher in church.  There’s nothing I like better than teaching a class.  Nothing like that has made itself available during our two years at the church.

So, I just don’t know anymore.  I don’t know what the Lord wants to do with me.  I don’t know what my role in church is.  I don’t know what I’m called to do.

And here’s the secret as I peel the onion back a little.  I’m scared.  I’m scared that He is done with me.  I’m scared that I won’t ever figure out what I’m supposed to do.  I’m scared that I won’t ever get the opportunity to do anything that please Him and makes me happy.

I just don’t know anymore.

  1. Ed
    November 14, 2014 at 1:18 am

    Can I join the I Don’t Know Anymore Club?

  2. Jon Stallings
    November 14, 2014 at 5:42 pm

    Hey, Larry I doubt that God is done with you. Perhaps he is getting you ready for something new, something that will cause a bit of stretching. That is the thing about faith – we can’t see very far ahead. I think we have to be OK with “I don’t know” If we knew it all, why would we nee faith?

    Praying that you can hear his voice for the next season that he has for your future.

  3. November 14, 2014 at 9:06 pm

    Thank you for being so up front. It’s hard to see now, but God has plans for you.

  4. November 15, 2014 at 9:31 am

    Done with you? Not a chance! Putting you somewhere else (not another church but within that church)? My guess is yes. Take the time to refuel & refresh.

  5. Joe
    November 15, 2014 at 3:26 pm

    You are certainly a success at the campground Larry.

    • November 16, 2014 at 10:43 am

      Thanks Joe. I appreciate that. I forget easily.

  6. Leon Coleman
    November 15, 2014 at 5:25 pm

    Praying Brother…..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

