Home > Christianity, Faith > What Are You Doing About Your Thorns?

What Are You Doing About Your Thorns?

You probably don’t know this about me, but I was sort of a farm boy growing up.  My dad bought some cattle when I was in the fifth grade.  In fact, I bought six Holstein bulls and bottle fed them to earn some money when I was in the sixth grade.

I worked with the cattle, hauled hay and worked for other farmers around as I continued to grow.  One summer, though, I had the opportunity to gain another job.  We had thistles basically taking over one of our fields.

What I got to do was take a mattock and dig them out for hours upon hours for days upon days.  It was a tough summertime job when I would have rather been riding my bike or going to the pool.

This thistle patch was thick and was choking out the pasture where our cattle grazed.  We were having a bit of a drought that summer which caused grass to be at a premium.  Thinking back, it reminds me of the parable Jesus told about the seed and the soils.

*****

You know that parable, right?  A sower goes out to sow seed.  It not too different from when I sowed grass seed for my yard a few years ago.  He sowed some that hit the path and the birds ate them.  Others bell on rocky soil.  The seed grew up withered when the sun came out..  Others fell on good soil and grew abundantly.

Then there were the seed that fell among the thorns.  They grew but were choked out by something a lot like those thistles that I dug up.

I hope that most of us have heard this story taught and explained a few times.  I won’t go into the entire explanation.  I just want to know one question.

What are you doing about the thorns?

*****

The thorns represent the worries of this life that choke the good that the word of God does in our lives.  We all have these thorns that spring up in our lives.  They can grow and dominate our lives, often taking the focus that they don’t deserve.

So, what do we do?  How do we combat the thistles and thorns in our lives?

I say dig them up.

Start when they’re small.  Go after them before them grow tall and multiply.  Remove them before the roots go deep and take hold.

Be ruthless with them.  Don’t accept their existence.  Don’t assume that they have to be there.  Fight them.  Use every tool and strategy to defeat them.

That’s what you do with the thorns in your life.

What do you do with the thorns in your life?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. Ed
    November 17, 2014 at 4:45 am

    I burn them.
    Yeah, the Fire Dept ain’t too happy about that either… 😀

  2. robshep
    November 17, 2014 at 8:59 am

    I try to take action right away. If I sit on it and keep thinking about it I’ll get worn down.

  3. November 17, 2014 at 6:58 pm

    Leave them there and like all weeds they tend to multiply and take over.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

