Home > Christianity, Faith > Are You A Glutton For God?

Are You A Glutton For God?

Next .week will be a short work week in these parts.  More than likely in your parts too.  We will be celebrating a little old holiday called Thanksgiving.

For some, the highlight of the day will be the Cowboys or the Lions playing some football.  Others will be watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade a few hours earlier.  Some will kick their holiday movie watching that night with, perhaps, National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation.

For most of us, we will gather with family and share a meal unlike any other we eat during the year.  It will be almost sinful how much we eat next Thursday.

Quite honestly, we will be gluttonous next week.  We will eat more than our fair share.  We will eat to the point of having to change clothes to be comfortable.

Imagine, though.  Just imagine.

*****

Imagine if we were that hungry for God.

Consider if we feasted on God’s word the way we will on turkey.

What if we desired prayer like we will desire the pecan pies?

Think about if we meditated on God’s word like we will meditate on what we will eat.

What if we put feet to what the Bible tells us within its pages?

What if we were gluttons for God like we will truly be gluttons a week from today?

How could you be a glutton for God?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. November 20, 2014 at 5:51 am

    I’m glad you aren’t talking about me being gluttonous next week. 🙂 Actually, I am usually pretty disciplined since there are some things I don’t indulge in; football, pumpkin pie, anything with spice, or parades. I do watch “The Santa Clause” and “Wonderful Life” as part of my Thanksgiving tradition.

  2. robshep
    November 20, 2014 at 9:42 am

    I think it comes with getting tastes of God. You won’t crave Him if you don’t taste Him. Sounds weird, but Jesus did say “Eat my flesh.” I am not a glutton for things I don’t crave. If you put a buffet of lima beans in front of me I’ll pass. If you put buffalo chicken dip in front of me I will eat my weight in it. I’ve found the same to be true with God.

    • November 20, 2014 at 8:14 pm

      Love the way you said that, Rob. And I love the buffalo chicken dip too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

