Home > Christianity, Faith > God In The Clouds

God In The Clouds

Jan can do something that I cannot.  To be completely fair, she is better than me at many things.  There just happens to be one that is the focus of this post.

In fact, it’s not just her that is better than me.  Our kids followed in her footsteps.  They aren’t just better than me.  I can’t even do it.

What is it?

I don’t see shapes in clouds.

I really don’t even notice clouds unless they are getting dark.  I don’t even know the old saying about red sails in the morning.  Is that the sailor’s warning?

We can be driving along and Andrew (or Jan or Lauren) will start talking about everything he has seen in the clouds.  I usually glance at them, but rarely see anything.

It’s as though the clouds are always there, drifting along, looking down on us without many of us giving them a thought.

*****

Is it much different with God in our lives?

God is there.  He has us all surrounded, everywhere at once.  We act as though He is just drifting around, lighting occasionally, but generally staying out of the way.

Instead, the Lord is involved more than most of us can tell, just like the clouds.  We don’t notice the clouds much until they become dark enough to rain.  We too don’t pay much attention to Him until the rain, the storms, begin to show up.

I guess I was wrong.  I can see something in the clouds just like my family.  I can see the Lord when I look at them, when I consider the clouds.  That shouldn’t surprise me since He created them.

Can you see shapes in the clouds?  How about the Lord?  Where else can you unexpectedly see God?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: ,
  1. Ed
    December 2, 2014 at 2:01 am

    Once I was driving along and I saw something in the clouds. It seemed to drop straight down and then stop. All of a sudden it became bigger and bigger (that’s the perspective that one normally gets when a freight train hits them). Then “WHAM!” it hit my windsheild, cracking it real good.
    To this day I have no idea what it was that hit me. I think it could have been Iron Man. I know one thing: a little lower and a foot to the right, and my head might not be here right now.
    Yeah, I do believe in God! 🙂

  2. December 2, 2014 at 5:24 am

    I am like you. I have never seen things in clouds. I can lay on my back and stare and not see anything.

  3. robshep
    December 2, 2014 at 9:10 am

    I see all sorts of shapes in clouds. My kids try to, but I’m pretty sure they are lying. They end up saying things like Mikey Mouse.

  4. December 2, 2014 at 11:18 am

    I see only if someone points it out to me. I look at clouds and think an old gospel song, This could be the cloud He’s coming back on, glory I know that it’s not long.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

