Home > Christianity, Faith > What Would You Do?

What Would You Do?

We’ve all probably heard the following story, or at least one like it.

There were two men who worked together.  One was a Christian.  The other wasn’t.  The Christian prayed for the other man every day.  One day that man came in and told the Christian that he had gone to a Billy Graham Crusade and come to know the Lord.  The Christian was joyous and told him that he had been praying for him.  The new Christian scratched his head and said, “Thanks but why hadn’t you told me about Jesus?”

*****

I was talking to my friend, Bryan, at work the other day.  He said that he was finally realizing that maybe God wasn’t just preparing him for something at his church.  Instead, he realized that he needed to actually minister in his church and community.  His biggest realization was that he need to share the Gospel he holds dear with others.  Not just practice some lifestyle evangelism.  No, he needs to share the Gospel with others.

Bryan is realizing what the man in the above story didn’t realize.  He needs to do whatever it takes to share Christ with others.  Not just wait to find out if it’s God’s will.  It is.  He just needs to do it and not worry about whether the mystery of God’s will  is happening.

*****

I talk about a lot of things on a daily basis.  Work.  Family.  Tennessee football.  The question is how much do I talk about Jesus and what he has done in my life?  Do I really tell people what Jesus did on the cross?  Do they know he shed His blood and died for us?

Would I do anything to get people to Jesus?

What would you do to get people to Jesus?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: ,
  1. December 5, 2014 at 1:22 am

    That’s a zinger for sure, Larry. Ouch! I’m good at praying for folks to get saved, but short on sharing.

  2. robshep
    December 5, 2014 at 1:19 pm

    Such a great post. I can be such a people pleaser that I don’t want to make someone feel bad. But I’m offering them good news. That’s all the gospel is. I’m a work in progress and this is an area God is stretching me in currently.

    • December 9, 2014 at 9:17 am

      Funny, isn’t it, that we think good news would make simeone feel bad.

  3. jonstolpe
    December 7, 2014 at 8:31 am

    Larry, as I was thinking about your post, I came across this article that applies pretty well – Preach the Gospel, and Since Necessary, Use Words – http://www.christianitytoday.com/edstetzer/2012/june/preach-gospel-and-since-its-necessary-use-words.html?paging=off

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

