Home > Christianity, Faith > What Dominates You?

What Dominates You?

A few weeks ago Andrew and I went to a ballgame.  A Tennessee football game, of course.  In fact, we went to every Tennessee home game this year but one.  We have been going to games together now since 2008 and though our team hasn’t performed well over the past few years, it’s been a golden era in terms of attendance.  Due to Andrew, I’ve gone to more game during this period than all other years before.

One of the games we went to was the Kentucky game.  Tennessee scored early and often.  In the end, our Vols won in a rout, pulling away from the Wildcats to the end.  There is just one word that describes the day.

Domination.

Unlike most of the games we have seen together, Tennessee dominated the game.  One question came to mind.

What dominates me?

*****

Easily it could be the sport that Andrew and I love passionately.  I tweet about it and we follow it closely.  But it could be something different as well.

It could be money.  I might be trying to accumulate wealth that surpasses anything I will ever need.

It could be my career.  I could be doing everything I could to advance in my career at the expense of everything else.

Maybe it’s some hobby that gets my attention more than anything else.

All of these things are fine as long as they DON”T  dominate me.

But what about something a little less benign?

Alcohol.

Drugs.

Sex.

So many things can dominate our lives.

Paul said that all things are lawful, but not all things are helpful.  He was determined to not be dominated by anything. (1 Cor. 6:12)

So many things we encounter are ok.  Lawful, as Paul said, until we allow them to gain control.  To become our focus.  To dominate us.

Let’s do all we can to seek Christ and let Him dominate us.  That’s the key, isn’t it?  To allow the living and risen Savior fill us and dominate us so completely that nothing else stands a chance to.  That’s the only way I know to combat this.  It’s the only way I can.

Do you allow anything to dominate you?  What do you do to combat it?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: ,
  1. December 8, 2014 at 5:25 am

    During cycling season I have to be really careful it does not dominate my time and my thinking. i win. I lose, I win. I lose. You get the picture.

  2. robshep
    December 8, 2014 at 9:17 am

    Food dominates me. I am exercising more than ever. I’ve been doing Crossfit at 5:00 AM 5 days a week and I’ve gained weight. Not muscle weight. I’m such a work in progress.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

