Home > Christianity, Faith > Make Love AND War

Make Love AND War

Sometimes I think that I was born a couple of decades too late.  My favorite music comes from the 1960’s, which means I should have been born no later than the early 1950’s to have really enjoyed it when it was first hitting the scene.

The 60’s were a tumultuous time.  The Vietnam War was on the evening news.  The Beatles were on top of the world.  The hippies were found in Haight Ashbury.  And make love, not war a popular slogan.

Now, I’m older than I would have been if I had grown up during that time.  Hopefully, I’m a little wiser.  What do I know?  That slogan provides a shallow foundation for one’s life.  Instead, our slogan should be different, even if the difference is only slight.

Make love and war.

*****

We who follow Christ are in a war.  True, it is a war that is already one, but a war it still is.

It is a war that affects our souls.  It is a war that has casualties and human capital.

It is a war of paradox, one that appears to be upside down from what life looks like.

It is a war of love.  It is a war with love at the center.

It must begin with the love of God before flowing to the love of people.

We must take a war-time mentality.  This means that we must love even when love doesn’t seem to be there.  We must fight for love before we fight for anything else.

We must make love AND war.  War against our enemies.  War for each.  War for our relationship with the Lord.

We must war.

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. December 11, 2014 at 5:50 am

    Failure to realize this will result in defeat before we start.

  2. robshep
    December 11, 2014 at 9:44 am

    Made me think of God’s Got An Army by Carman. Talk about going back a few decades.

    • December 14, 2014 at 9:39 pm

      I know of Carman, but somehow I never really knew anything he did.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

