Home > Christianity, Faith > Christmas Lights

Christmas Lights

My friend, Bill, wrote this post today.  I had been thinking about writing a similar post about light for a bit, so I thought I would go ahead with it.

Last Friday night we drove over through Pigeon Forge to Sevierville to see Shadrach’s Christmas light show.  This is a drive-thru experience where the lights are synced to the music.  For the low price of $20, we were able to see this after hearing about it for a couple of years.  It was well worth the price.

After that we drove to the Krispy Kreme in Pigeon Forge and saw all of the Winterfest lights.  This is where the entire city of Pigeon Forge is draped in Christmas lights.

We enjoyed it, but the thought that kept popping up was this:

All of these lights point to the fact that Christmas is about the Light.

Jesus is the Light of the world.  The darkness doesn’t comprehend the light.  It hates the light.  Why?  Because light affects darkness.  It changes the darkness.  Darkness does not remain dark when light enters it.

That’s what Christmas is all about.  The Light entering the world.  Changing it forever.  Repelling the darkness.

Our goal?  To continue shining that Light into the world.

Are you shining the Light into the world?

Categories: Christianity, Faith
  1. robshep
    December 12, 2014 at 9:15 am

    One of the hardest parts for me is the fact that I work at a church and am around Christians a lot. I have to work really hard to meet and establish friends with the lost.

  2. December 13, 2014 at 10:48 pm

    I ditto what Rob said. Sometimes I envy my friends who work in the secular world and have a lot of non christian friends. I have to on purpose at times look for ways to meet the lost and see what kind of conversation I can have with them. Then sometimes God just drops a lost person in my life like this summer at the pool. A young lady struck up a conversation with me and did not leave when she ask what we did…humm, missionary she said, what does a missionary do. Oh my…did I have a great time talking to her. She left he door open for me to come see her and continue our conversation someday. God knows I want to bring the light of Jesus to the lost.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

