Home > Christianity, Faith > What Habits Are You Building?

What Habits Are You Building?

My routines have been shattered lately.

Jan had knee surgery last week, which has meant some doctor appointments, an MRI and just general adjustment to schedule changes.

Andrew has had some knee issues as well.  We were concerned that he would have to have a surgery as well.  The MRI showed that he did not require being scoped, leaving a prescription for some therapy.

What has this meant for me?

My walking and running have taken a bit of hit.  Not totally, but throw in the fact that my FitBit quit working and I have no idea what my steps and mileage have been for the last several days.

If you had asked me before all of this if I was a routine kind of guy or not, I would have said no way.  I absolutely was not going to let myself be bracketed in following the same routine every day.

Then I paused and examined myself.

I like to leave for work at the same time every day.

I like to eat the same thing for breakfast every morning and I always get the same thing when I go to our favorite Mexican restaurant.

I take the same route to work and then follow a different one home every day.

What I have found is that I am a creature of habit and routine.  Guess what?

I’m ok with that.  In fact, I like it.  Here’s why.

The more routines that I stack into my life, the less I have to really think about many things that I face.  And I want to stack some more.

I want better routines when it come to my prayer life.  I think that if you polled a lot of us who follow Christ, including more than a few pastors, prayer is not the routine it should be in our lives.  Meeting and talking with Jesus on a daily basis should be a habit .

My Bible study needs to be more of a routine.  Just like eating by breakfast, reading my Bible should be second nature.  It should be a “natural” action every day.

Dating my wife should be a habit.  It should be second nature, what we do because it has become part of who we are.  It is a habit that should strengthen our bonds of matrimony.

It’s not difficult to develop bad habits in our lives.  We all have plenty in our lives that we could find.  The trick is for us to develop these good habits that will build us into who the Lord is developing us into.

What habits are you building in your life?  What habits do you need to shed?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. December 16, 2014 at 5:19 am

    I have the habit of coming to the office, checking my email, then having my Encounter Time (Quiet Time) but my prayer life is lacking a good habit.

  2. December 16, 2014 at 7:43 am

    I tend to buck the idea of a lot of routines, but I’m founding and have found exactly what you’re saying. Healthy habits keep us on track, and make it obvious when we get off track.

    • December 21, 2014 at 7:32 pm

      Yeah, you don’t have to have a lot. Just enough to keep you on track.

  3. robshep
    December 16, 2014 at 8:38 am

    I feel like the word of 2014 for me was systems. Systems change behaviors. Our problem is that we don’t follow the system. Systems work when we follow them.

    • December 21, 2014 at 7:32 pm

      Systems are good, Rob. I’ve been working on a few of my own.

  4. December 16, 2014 at 7:26 pm

    Trying to rebuild the habit of daily, meaningful prayer. And trying to get back to writing regularly.

  5. jonstolpe
    December 21, 2014 at 3:08 pm

    I have the habit of waking at 4:10AM, getting to the gym at 5AM, and leaving for work at 7AM. For the most part, it’s been a healthy routine for me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

