Home > Blogging, Christmas > 10 Things I Like About Christmas Week

10 Things I Like About Christmas Week

If you didn’t know by now, it’s Christmas week.  Thursday will be here quickly.  The world will slow down for one day and then many of us will be back to work on Friday.

This happens to be one of my favorite weeks of the year.  It is chock full of all sorts of things that make me happy.  Here are just a few.

  1. A short work week.  I love my job and I love to work, but I certainly love to take periodic breaks, Christmas being one of my favorites.
  2. Festivus.  Yes, it’s a made up holiday (more on that tomorrow), but it is so silly that I enjoy it.
  3. Cradle to the Cross.  My church sets up for all of us to arrive and participate in the Lord’s Supper each Christmas Eve.  It’s something that we enjoy each year.
  4. Pigeon Forge.  We take one last trip through Pigeon Forge, and sometimes Gatlinburg, looking at all of the Christmas lights.  We usually stop for a couple of treats and listen to Christmas music on the radio.
  5. A Christmas Story.  Of course, TBS shows this classic for 24 hours straight.  We love to catch one of them together.
  6. The true Christmas story.  We will pause to read and think about the core of this holiday.  You can’t have Christmas without Christ, can you?
  7. Food.  There is going to be a lot of good food this week.  I can’t wait to eat some of it.
  8. Gifts.  My love language is gifts.  I love to open presents.  They don’t have to be big or anything.  If it’s something meaningful to me, then I will love.  Hint:  Underwear doesn’t mean much to me.
  9. Movies.  Christmas always means getting a slew of new movies to watch.  I love it.
  10. Doctor Who Christmas Special.  I like to end my Christmas with this special.  In fact, our Gallifreyan doctor will be meeting up with Santa this year.

These are just a few of my favorite things about this week.  How about you?

Categories: Blogging, Christmas Tags:
  1. December 22, 2014 at 7:56 am

    Larry, I’ve yet to see A Christmas Story. Will be setting the DVR to catch it.

    Some of my favorite things are:

    Cocoa
    Dessert
    Giving presents
    Singing Happy Birthday to Lord

  2. robshep
    December 22, 2014 at 9:31 am

    Spending time with family. Watching the Lakers on Christmas day. Gifts! Food. The Christmas tree and all my fun ornaments.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

