Home > Blogging, Movies > My 10 Most Anticipated Movies Of 2015

My 10 Most Anticipated Movies Of 2015

If you have been a follower of this blog for a while, you know that I like movies.  I really like all kinds, but I focus primarily on action, sci fi and comic book movies.  At least when it comes to my favorites.

2015 promises to be a big movie year.  There are several I am looking forward to.  It’s hard to pinpoint which I want to watch the most, so I’ll list these somewhat chronologically.

Furious 7 is up first.  It’s the latest in The Fast and The Furious franchise.  The main reason I look forward to this one is because Andrew loves these films.  I would like them but they are something that he and I enjoy watching together.

Avengers: Age of Ultron is up next.  I’m a huge comic book movie geek.  I collected comic books all the way through college before finally giving it up.  These movies allow me to be that same kid that fell in love with comic books in 1973.  This movie is highly anticipated and the trailer looks great.

Mad Max: Fury Road comes out shortly after the Avengers.  I was a huge fan of Mel Gibson’s original run.  I haven’t read too much about how they update this, but I like the concept and I like Tom Hardy.

Tomorrowland is a bit of a mystery to me.  It is based, somewhat, on the area at Disneyland.  It is co-written and directed by Brad Bird who brought us The Incredibles.  What I have read about it seems fascinating, so I’ll give it a whirl.

Terminator Genisys continues the Terminator franchise.  Arnold will be making an appearance, so I have to check this one out.

Next up is Ant-Man.  Marvel did a great job bringing a group of obscure characters to the screen last year in Guardian of the Galaxy.  I have faith that they will take a tale about a guy who can shrink to the size of an ant and turn it into a gigantic success.

Spectre brings back James Bond in the fall.  I have loved James Bond movies for over 30 years now.  The last few have been among the best.

November will bring the final Hunger Games movie with Mockingjay -Part 2.  I haven’t seen part 1 yet, but I will soon and look to see them bring the story home with this one.

The grand poobah of geek movies will come out on December 18.  Star Wars: The Force Awakens will be the first film under the Disney leadership.  J.J. Abrams is directing so, yeah, I’ve got my geek on over this one.

Finally, I am looking forward to Mission: Impossible 5.  Say what you want about Tom Cruise, he does a pretty good job with these films.

Not quite making the cut, but some that I will see in some form or fashion are: Kingsman: The Secret Service, Divergent: Insurgent, Paul Blart 2, The Fantastic Four (though I think this one may stink), The Man From UNCLE, and  London Has Fallen.

What movies are you looking forward to in 2015?

  1. December 29, 2014 at 1:28 am

    I’m not a big fan of the TV so I missed a lot of movies when I was younger. Now, i’m getting to watch all the movies I can but still not following the new ones unless it’s highly recommended like Fury, it was the only movie I’ve seen in the cinema this year but I’ve seen lots of other old movies ranging from the 1970’s to 2000’s.

    Your list seems interesting. Tom Cruise wasn’t one of my favorite until I watched Jerry Maguire. Fast 6 was nice though I’m not a big fan of the movie, lots of action for me. Best of luck on your list and happy holidays. :).

  2. Steve Y
    December 29, 2014 at 3:16 am

    Pixar’s Inside Out

    • December 29, 2014 at 4:16 am

      I’m sure that one will be good and fhat I will see it.

  3. December 29, 2014 at 8:12 am

    Honestly hadn’t heard about the Mad Max resurrection. The old ones are nuts… but I like ’em.

  4. robshep
    December 29, 2014 at 9:28 am

    Love it! I’m excited about this crop of movies. 2014 overall was a bit of a let down for me at the movies. There were some standouts, but overall it was meh.

  5. December 29, 2014 at 9:33 am

    I’m with you on Avengers. Saw the trailer the other night. Will also watch Mockinjay and Insurgent. No desire to see Star Wars. Jo is looking forward to seeing Taken 3. She saw the others at home. We have a local theater where we can see movies for $5 (free since we volunteer). We will see more than I think…I think.

  6. December 29, 2014 at 11:42 am

    Larry, no Tak3n? Liam Neeson on the run, taking down anyone? 😉

    I’m looking forward to:

    Avengers
    Mad Max: Fury Road
    Star Wars

    I’m sure I’ll see some others, too. Just saw the final Hobbit movie. It was a bit of a let down.

  7. philsname32
    December 29, 2014 at 7:53 pm

    You nailed pretty much all of them for me. I’m a disney geek so I’m really excited about Tomorrowland. I caught a sneak peek of about 5 minutes of if and it looks really good. I’m looking forward to Inside Out. Also Jurassic World.

  8. December 30, 2014 at 4:04 pm

    Lots of good movies have come out and are coming out. My son is giddy! Hope you had a nice Christmas, Larry. Happy “almost” New Year.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

