Home > Blogging, Christianity, Faith > Don’t Waste Your Struggle

Don’t Waste Your Struggle

During my seventh grade year, my mom got sick.  I don’t want to go into the gory details other than to say that it greatly affected our family’s life.  Things were never the same again, though not always as bad as they could be.

As a kid, and sometimes as an adult, I wondered why I it happened.  “Why me?”, was a common question that I asked often.

Not long ago I found out.  Maybe not the total reason, but a reason.

*****

One day I was walking down the hall at work.  I met someone who used to be on my team.  I asked her how she was doing and suddenly she was telling me.

Her adult son was going through the same thing my mom had gone through.

I was able to discuss the issue with her and give her some words of encouragement.  Not long after she sent me an email telling me how much it meant to her that I would take my time to talk with her.

*****

What I went through was pretty bad as a kid.

What the lady I spoke with was going through was pretty bad as well.

There may have been 10,000 that my mom got sick when I was a young man.  I may not know 9,999 of them.  But I do know one.

I know something else as well.

The struggle I went through should not be wasted.

For decades I wondered why I went through this hard time.  One day the Lord gave me an opportunity to use it.

It was as though God said, “Don’t waste your struggle.”

Has God ever given you an opportunity to use your struggles for others?

Categories: Blogging, Christianity, Faith Tags: ,
  1. January 8, 2015 at 6:00 am

    Very wise Larry. No lesson is to be wasted. Ever.

  2. January 8, 2015 at 6:01 am

    Oh yeah, I’m also glad you took the time to stop and minister to that lady. You were Jesus at that point.

  3. robshep
    January 8, 2015 at 9:19 am

    Well done! God has used our miscarriage to help other couples. He has also used our struggle with infertility. I tend to be in the minority on this view, but I don’t think God causes all things to happen. I think He is so good He uses all things for the good of those who love Him.

    • January 8, 2015 at 9:07 pm

      I’m glad that He has used you and your situations, Rob.

  4. jonstolpe
    January 8, 2015 at 12:55 pm

    God has used a health crisis in our family several years ago in the lives of others.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

