Home > Blogging, Faith > The Question I’ve Been Asking Lately

The Question I’ve Been Asking Lately

I’ve been asking myself a question.  I don’t know if any of my friends who write blogs ever ask this question, or some variation of it.  I’m sure some who sit down before their screens do.  I really don’t know the answer at this point.

Is the muse still there?

*****

I’ve been writing one blog or another for over six years now.  Every day, for going on four years now, I’ve been showing up almost every day to write.  Lately it’s been tough.

Work has been busy.  Life in general has been busy.  Some days both have been tough.

Guess what?

I’ve never asked if the muse was going to show up so I could go to work.  For all of the busy things I’ve been doing over the last year, I’ve never once had to be “inspired” to do them.  Work and the other things in life are just what you have to do.  It’s that simply.

*****

I have a couple of friends who are pro writers.  That’s what they do for a living.  Lord willing, I’ll be having lunch with them in a couple of days.  I’ve never asked them, but I don’t think they sit around waiting to be in the right mood in order to write.  They don’t passively sit there waiting to be inspired.  They don’t wait for a muse.

They have families and responsibilities that drive what they do.  At least that’s what I think.  Maybe I’ll ask them over a sub later this week.

*****

I don’t think Jesus waited around to be inspired to do what He did either.  He broke it down pretty simply.  He saw what His Father was up to.  He joined Him in His work.

Jesus’ food was to do the will of the Father.  In other words, that’s what drove Him.  That was His passion.  That was His inspiration.

Jesus loved the world, as His Father loved the world, so much that He left the riches of Heaven for the poverty of earth in order to give eternal life to you and me.  And the rest of the of the world.

Jesus didn’t need a muse to show up so that He could get to work.  He just went to work.

*****

So, I sit down and knock out my 300, 400 and sometimes 500 words every day.  Why?

Because I want to glorify the Father.

Because I’m passionate about writing this stuff.

Because it’s become part of who I am.

Because if I wait on a muse, I’ll still be waiting a year or two from now.

Do you ever wait to be inspired before you do something?

Categories: Blogging, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. January 13, 2015 at 5:19 am

    It is strange. There are times I sit down to write and have absolutely no clue what I am going to say. Then, He comes. I’ll take that any day over my own planned, packaged, pre-hashed posts.

  2. robshep
    January 13, 2015 at 9:09 am

    You are so right on. Writers write. If you wait for inspiration or a the perfect post you won’t be a writer. You’ll be a thinker who never accomplishes writing.

  3. Stan McMahan
    January 13, 2015 at 11:58 am

    as an artist i can say that i can always do some art. but the good stuff comes from inspiration. I can tell the difference, mostly in the passion i put into the piece. If i’m just killing time with art i can cut it off like bologna and say it’s finished, but i can’t leave an inspired piece till i have reached that “magic” moment that i know it “it is finished”. i don’t get get many inspired pieces. Most of my art is done in the killing time with art process like 90%

  4. jonstolpe
    January 13, 2015 at 1:28 pm

    It’s amazing to see what happens when I sit down to write. I don’t always know where it will go, but it seems to work out. Sometimes these posts even do things I would never have expected.

  5. Jon Stallings
    January 13, 2015 at 4:23 pm

    Too often it is easy to base our life on feelings. We wait to feel something before we act. If we know what to do then we need to act. The feelings may or may not come. Faith has a lot to do with not knowing. We just have act and do. There are weeks when I struggle to create a sermon. I do my best to listen to the Spirit but sometimes I just have pick a topic from “sermon starter” list and just start writing. In most cases once I start writing then I hear His voice. I had to step out first.

  6. January 14, 2015 at 12:33 am

    Wow, this is a tricky one. I totally agree with you, but in a way it would be hypocritical of me to wholeheartedly agree, as I have not actively lived this one out. I’m an “artsy” type of guy, unfortunately for my consistency, and sometimes struggle when the “inspiration” is not there. Your thoughts here are very true, and this is a work in progress in my life.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

