Home > Blogging > A Funny Thing Happened When I Woke Up Yesterday

A Funny Thing Happened When I Woke Up Yesterday

It’s been a rough week.  Monday was a tough day.  I didn’t sleep well, making Tuesday rough, though I was somehow productive at work.

Last night I slept well and woke up.  That’s when something funny happened as I began to start my morning.

*****

After a bad night’s sleep and productive day, I really didn’t want to do anything Tuesday night.  I came home and Jan grilled us some paninis.  Andrew had the TV on so that we could watch our Vol hoops team take on the Pig Sooies from Arkansas.

After the Vols won, I sat down to read for a few minutes.  About thirty or so minutes later, Andrew woke me up to go to bed.  I slept exceptionally well.

Did you notice what I left out?

*****

I realized yesterday morning that I hadn’t written a blog post the night before.  I don’t recall that ever happening.  I’ve been struggling writing lately as I’ve been expending a lot mental energy at work.  Well, let’s just say more mental energy due to being extremely busy.

Jim Woods was probably disappointed in me.  According to him, I’m the Cal Ripken Jr. of blogging.

Today, though, I’m back at it.  Poking a little fun at myself.  Not getting upset over it like I might have in the past.  Just dealing with it and moving on.

Thanks to all my friends who come by and read these little posts.  You make my day.  Even though I forgot to write, I didn’t forget you.

Have you ever just totally forgotten to do something that you normally do?

Categories: Blogging
  1. January 15, 2015 at 4:23 am

    Yep. A dozen things, and it’s a bad habit. 😛

  2. January 15, 2015 at 5:27 am

    Yep but least not the essentials like taking a shower and brushing my teeth, eating and writing a blog. I kid on that last one. 🙂 Never hurts to take a break.

  3. jonstolpe
    January 15, 2015 at 9:29 am

    Last week, I forgot to bring a towel with me to the gym in the morning. I had just run several miles, so I was covered in sweat. I needed a shower, and I didn’t have time to go home if I was going to be on time for my Friday morning men’s group. What did I do?

    I showered.

    I used my sweatshirt as a towel.

    And I went on with my day.

    I bet I remember my towel tomorrow morning!

    • January 20, 2015 at 9:46 pm

      Suddenly we don’t have towels in our locker room at work. I had to use papertowels.

  4. robshep
    January 15, 2015 at 10:20 am

    I missed your blog yesterday. I almost texted you to make sure you were okay. I didn’t want to add to the pressure of blogging. If you didn’t post today you were going to hear from me. As for forgetting things!!!! I showed up to work today without my computer. I had walked into the office ready to do work when I realized I didn’t have my weapon of choice. I had to drive back home. Today is sermon writing day and that doesn’t happen without a computer.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

