Home > Christianity, Faith > 5 Bad Reasons To Enter The Ministry

5 Bad Reasons To Enter The Ministry

Once upon a time I sold my house, packed my family up and headed to seminary.  We spent a year there in what I like to call the best and worst year of our lives.

Over the years I’ve come to realize that there is one real good reason to enter the ministry and several bad ones.  Here are five reasons you should never enter the ministry.

  1. You have become tired of your job.  This one is easy to fall into.  You are bored in your job.  Your boss is bad.  You’ve come to hate it more than you love something else.  This is a terrible reason to enter the ministry.
  2. You only work one day a week.  I’m not sure if anyone really believes this any more.  Used to it was a widespread belief.
  3. You think preaching is easy.  All a preacher does is preach on Sunday.  He might do a little visitation.
  4. You plan to be rolling in the money.  Your writing is important.  It’s valuable.  Someone should make sure this happens.
  5. You will be a “rock star.”  While I can understand this, it’s not something to strive for.

I think any, if not all, of us struggle with this problem.  It’s a battle every day.  It may be much more difficult  for pastors and ministers than the rest of us.

What are some other reasons to not enter the ministry?

Categories: Christianity, Faith
  1. January 16, 2015 at 1:35 am

    Maybe a reason not to enter into ministry is for recognition from others?

  2. January 16, 2015 at 12:57 pm

    Someone said, you should be in ministry, not a reason to go into ministry. Getting a good bible education is never a waste no matter what one does.

  3. jonstolpe
    January 16, 2015 at 2:42 pm

    I guess it all depends on how you define “ministry”. I’d like to think we (Christ followers) are called to be in “ministry”. I know for a fact that my work is a mission field where ministry happens. I’m guessing your place of employment is the same. God uses “ministers” (those who are in ministry) everywhere – not just in the confines and structure of the church.

    • January 20, 2015 at 9:45 pm

      I guess what I mean is vocational. We are all definitely in ministry.

  4. January 17, 2015 at 5:27 pm

    Good post….. But you never mentioned that one reason TO enter thw ministry. Maybe thats the next post?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

