Home > Christianity, Faith > You’re Not Done Yet

You’re Not Done Yet

I’m in the midst of my forty-seventh year right now.  It’s strange to think that I am older now than my parents were when I married Jan.  My thirtieth high school reunion will be happening in another year and both of my children will graduate next year, Andrew from high school and Lauren from college.  Beyond that, fifty is looming, approaching like a freight train coming out of a tunnel.

I think it’s roughly during this time of life that many of us struggle.  We begin to face our mortality.  We realize more than at any other time of life before that we aren’t invulnerable and immortal.  Our bodies ache more than they used to and we aren’t quite able to do everything we used to be able to.

It’s easy to get down during these days.  We might wonder what we’ve accomplished in life.  We question how much time we have left.  We might wonder if we will be able to accomplish anything else.  We see so many younger people seemingly pass us by.

It would be easy to think that we are done.

The good thing is that we aren’t.  We aren’t done.  We aren’t toast.

God isn’t through with us.  If He was, He would take us home.

*****

That leaves some very good questions.  What’s our purpose as we begin that journey toward the latter years of our life?  What are we supposed to do?

It’s not a lot different from the questions asked during any other stage of life.  In fact, as we have lived, gained experience and, hopefully, wisdom, we might be better equipped to  face those questions.

I’ve written this before.  It’s not original with me, though I don’t recall where this originated.  Good judgment comes from experience and experience comes from bad judgment.

We should have lived enough, experienced enough, made enough bad decisions to help us answer these questions at this stage of life.

Even if we don’t know the answers, we should know better about where to find them.  We know things, we have learned things, that can help point us in the right direction.

The key is hanging on and remembering, like I wrote above, that God is not through with us.  We may be in a much better place in life to find the answer.  Our days of hands on parenting are winding down.  Our jobs and careers are usually more stable.

We are in a good place to realize that God is not done with us and look to where He can use us for His kingdom.

So, let’s get busy?

Have you ever been in a place where you thought God was done with you?  What did you do to face that?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: ,
  1. Ed
    January 19, 2015 at 1:12 am

    Job? Career? These words are strange to me… 😛

    • Ed
      January 19, 2015 at 1:18 am

      Early in the second phase of my Christian life, when I felt the spiritual pressure of being twisted/molded, for a while there I felt as if God had abandoned me because I couldn’t get anything spiritual right. It seemed as if my spiritual life was headed in the wrong direction at a high rate of speed. I literally felt as if God had, in a very angry tone said “I’ve had enough of you.” I literally broke down in the spirit, not knowing what to do, because at that point I thought that I was as close to God as I could ever be. Thank the Lord for my faith, because I’ve learned that God is never in a place where He is done with us!

  2. January 19, 2015 at 5:27 am

    I’ve never felt as though God was done with me. However, I have had times when i wondered what He was doing and going to do.

    • January 20, 2015 at 9:43 pm

      I wonder a lot of times what He’s doing, but I figure He’s got it worked out.

  3. robshep
    January 19, 2015 at 12:28 pm

    I like this blog a lot. If it makes you feel better TobyMac beat you to 50. That blows my mind. We have a ministry coach right now and he tells us often, “amateurs learn by mistakes, professionals learn by coaching.” I’m a professional amateur. Way too often I learn from mistakes only. That’s half the battle. The other half is opening yourself up to coaching. Great post!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

