Home > Christianity, Church > Small Groups Paradox

Small Groups Paradox

I have a confession to make.  It’s not something I’m proud of.  In fact, I wish it wasn’t true.

I’m not currently part of a small group at my church.

This is tough for me to swallow.  Just a year ago I was asked to take on being the small group leader for the church.  I’ve written before about how that didn’t work out.  It’s just strange how it has worked out.

We were part of a group for a time.  For various reasons that have nothing to do with any individuals, we dropped out.  Since then, we just haven’t been able to get back into one.

The think about it is, we really want to get into one.  There are few things that we want to add to our lives more than being a part of a group of people to study the Bible with and share our lives with.

The problem is that the groups that meet during the week are hard for us to commit to.  I never really know when I will exactly get off work and I don’t feel like we would be able to attend enough.  The cool thing is that we were invited to one the other day by the host.  The bad thing is that, you know, it was a time that isn’t good.

Another problem is that we are both introverted.  We need a few people that we know fairly well to be involved in order to have a comfort level when we attend.

It’s a paradox.  We want to be involved in a small group, but can’t seem to be able to really find one to join.

What’s going on with your small groups these days?

Categories: Christianity, Church Tags: ,
  1. January 21, 2015 at 1:25 am

    Not a member of a small group. To borrow a phrase from a Willow Creek drama about small groups? “A small group of what?”

    Organic community grows up around you, just as a fellowship does in the 12 Step rooms – those that are real – not programmed by “the church” or a para-church ministry but formed out of desire for one on the part of all interested participants – those are worth the time and the sacrifice. Just another Bible study, or an inauthentic community? I’ll pass.

  2. January 21, 2015 at 6:03 am

    Not involved in a group at this time. Our church has historically struggled with them.

  3. January 21, 2015 at 8:18 am

    I found a small online community that was filled with people whom I felt shared my spiritual beliefs. They seemed to empower the other members of the group, cheer them on and be supportive, all the things you’d expect from a small God-minded group. I watched as the interactions shifted this year and it all left a very bad taste in my mouth.
    I was invited to join other sub-groups, but found the people involved had nothing better to do than to stay a tight-knit clicque that was very reminiscent of high school.
    I feel for you, being an introvert and all, I am the same, and feel this has also led to my dislike of such things.

  4. Ricky Anderson
    January 21, 2015 at 12:23 pm

    My wife is terribly uncomfortable with small groups. We’ve tried, but are not part of one.

    • January 22, 2015 at 9:11 pm

      I think that’s ok. Of course, if you had just another couple, that would be a group.

  5. robshep
    January 21, 2015 at 2:04 pm

    We do semesters are our church so we are currently on break. Starting the first week of February I’ll jump into a new small group.

  6. jonstolpe
    January 21, 2015 at 4:28 pm

    Our family-based service group (H.O.P.E.) served at a local nursing home last night.

    My men’s group is still in the early stages of development. We meet Friday mornings at 6AM. Talk about commitment!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

