Home > Christianity, Church > Something I’ve Been Guilty Of

Something I’ve Been Guilty Of

Yesterday I wrote about a small group paradox.  You can read about that if you happened to have missed it.

Jan and I talked about this a bit.  You could say that small groups are on our mind a bit, leading me to think that we really do want to be a part of one.  As I’ve thought about it more over the past twenty-four hours, I realized that I’m guilty of something that I didn’t even realize.

I have thought that my approach to small groups has to be the same as everyone else’s .

You see, my situation is unique.  Jan and I have our own schedules.  We have our own lives that don’t exactly mirror any others in our church.

Yet I have thought that we have to shoehorn ourselves into the existing small groups within our church.

I’m not sure why I’ve thought that except that it seems that is the way it all seems to work.

This isn’t a criticism of any of those existing small groups.  It’s just that they have been created and grown and become cells of our local body.  There are probably people who can easily assimilate into those existing structures.  However, everyone shouldn’t follow that same approach.

Jan and I work differently than others.  Every other week I am unable to make it to our Wednesday night service due to my job.

Jan and I are in the final stages of our time as parents of kids who are involved in a ton of activities.  That doesn’t seem to mesh with the existing structures.

So what do we do?

We need to think outside the box.  We need to seek out others with unique situations like ours.  We need to think outside the box.  Maybe we shouldn’t meet weekly with others.  Maybe we should meet every other week or even monthly to begin with.

We both trend toward being introverts.  The larger a group is, the harder it is for us to feel connected.  Four to six people are about the max for us to feel real comfortable.

There are just so many options that we need to explore to make gathering together with brothers and sisters in a small group workable.

We don’t have to be guilty of doing it just like everyone else.

What do your small groups look like if you are involved in them?

Categories: Christianity, Church Tags: ,
  1. January 22, 2015 at 6:04 am

    We are not part of a small group however since I am an extrovert (my wife is not) I am okay with size.

  2. Jamie Carter
    January 22, 2015 at 9:36 am

    There aren’t any small groups in my church. But the idea that they have to be the same is flawed. To use the cell analogy, there are all sorts of different types of cells in a body, not all of them are identical copies of each other. Different cells do different things, skin cells, muscle cells, hair cells, etc. – so ideally, a church would have different kinds of cells. There could be one geared around the needs of the retired individuals, one’s designed to be flexible for the busier people, etc.

  3. jonstolpe
    January 22, 2015 at 1:46 pm

    1) My H.O.P.E. (Helping Other People Everywhere) group meets twice a month. The first time we meet at our house for dinner, a devotion, and a small service project. The second time we meet somewhere in the community where we serve together. This week, we served at a local nursing home where we played bingo with the residents. The group includes kids and adults from ages 12-70.

    2) My men’s group meets every week at 6AM on Friday mornings. We meet for an hour with 14 men who are serious about growing closer to God. The group is relatively young, and we’re still trying to figure out exactly what it looks like. Our hope is that the group will be together for 20+ years.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

