Home > Blogging, Movies > American Sniper: A Non-Review

American Sniper: A Non-Review

The biggest movie in America right now is American Sniper.  It tells the story of Chris Kyle, a former Navy SEAL, who is known as the most lethal sniper in the history of the United States.

If you know me, you know that I love movies.  I watch a lot of them, albeit when most of them make it to Redbox.  However, I don’t plan to watch Sniper.  Here’s why.

First of all, this movie is being put up for some major awards as we are in the midst of awards season.  Here’s something you need to know.  I don’t watch many movies that are up for any kind of Academy Awards.  It’s just not what I do.

Second, I have never understood either of the Gulf Wars in my lifetime.  Now, I’m not squeamish about war or violence.  I totally understood our military going after terrorists in Afghanistan.  I grew up in the 80’s and have always been a little hawkish.  I still have never understood what our national interests were both times we went into Iraq.  I support our troops.  I just never have understood the war.

Third, this seems like a message movie to me.  I don’t do message movies.

Finally, I watch movies to be entertained.  I don’t get the entertainment value of this one.

Now, please understand this.  If you want to go watch American Sniper, I think that’s terrific.  I just don’t personally want to watch it.  I think it is great that we have a military and I fully support them.  I am just going to pass on this film.

Are you going to watch American Sniper?

Categories: Blogging, Movies Tags: ,
  1. Leon Coleman
    January 23, 2015 at 6:41 am

    I think I will watch it Larry! I do not know his story, and will watch it to be informed and because I like true story films. I love movies!

    • February 2, 2015 at 9:29 pm

      That’s the great thing. There are movies for all of us.

  2. jonstolpe
    January 23, 2015 at 11:04 am

    I’m guessing I won’t see it. I don’t see all that many movies, and I’m not crazy about watching the PTSD aspect of the film. It just hits a little too close to home.

  3. Jon Stallings
    January 23, 2015 at 3:40 pm

    I am somewhat undecided. First as a principle I rarely watch rated R movies (I may even have to add PG 13 to that rule). The guy in me really wants to see it. I know war is hard but it seems like it glorifies taking the life of another. I am by no means a peace hawk – but at the end of the day each life is someone Jesus would love to redeem – despite how vile they may be. I know the movie may show Kyle’s struggle with taking a life but the trailer and all the hype don’t show that side. It was an ugly job that I am sure he had to do to save lives – but not sure we should try to make sound like a great adventure. I am thankful for the men and women that serve to protect our nation.

  4. January 23, 2015 at 7:03 pm

    I’m considering it, Larry, but am not sure at this point. Probably won’t because it’s not something my wife would watch. I like for it us to be able to go together.

    Onky related insofar as it’s a movie, Paddington was really quite good. You should see that. It’s entertaining, and definitely not a “message” movie (though there is one if you look hard enough). 🙂

  5. January 23, 2015 at 7:38 pm

    I went to see Unbroken and American Sniper, both reminded of setting one face like a flint toward a goal. One thing was clear the enemy certainly sets their face toward a goal too, to destroy, it’s clearly seen in both movies. The message I took away from each one was the one my son gave when he volunteered for the Marines after the plane flew into the Twin Towers. He said I must do something so my nieces and nephew will not have to deal with this kind of terror. He did not see it as an adventure. Each man in each movie went to war to protect which is exactly what God put into them, the need to protect. There is so much hype out there on these two movies, all it does is confuse and cause division. I went with out an agenda, and I put my political views aside, I went to see two good movies about two men, different times. If anything I found something that inspired me in each one. I am a movie goer by husband is not but he seen both war movies with me, actually wanted to. That my take, simple but it’s mine.

  6. robshep
    January 26, 2015 at 9:41 am

    Larry, the one thing that I believe is capturing people about this movie is the human struggle. They do a great job of showing him at home with his family. You feel for him. You come to care about his family and see the struggle war has on them. This is different than so many other war movies in that it makes you feel human. At least it did for me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

