Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > I Was Never A Boy Scout

I Was Never A Boy Scout

I never was a Boy Scout.

I wanted to be.  To be honest, I had no idea what Scouts did when I was a kid.  I’m not sure why.  I never thought to ask one what they did.

My imagination took control of what I learned about them from TV.  I thought every weekend for a Scout was spent marching through the woods to another campsite.

Truth be told, I really wanted to be a Scout because of the uniforms.  I’ve always been a sucker for uniforms.  I used to use my version of the Internet, the World Book encyclopedia, to look at every military uniform available.

For whatever reason, though, I never became a Boy Scout and never learned what it meant to be prepared the way they were taught.

*****

I ask myself all the time if I’m prepared for church when Sunday rolls around.

Did I get enough sleep?

Did I get my clothes ready the night before?

Did I eat enough so that my stomach doesn’t growl right in the middle of the sermon?

Those aren’t the most important questions, though.

Did I spend the week in worship so that I can worship on Sunday?

Did I spend time in prayer preparing for corporate worship?

Did I spend time in God’s word preparing for, well, everything?

I don’t like the answers to a lot of these questions.  Why?

Because I’m not prepared to answer them.

Do you prepare for worship?

Categories: Christianity, Church, Faith Tags: ,
  1. January 28, 2015 at 5:52 am

    i was a Cub Scout. But found out it was not for me. Even did one year of Weblos. Still found out it was not for me. I find sometimes I am prepared for worship and sometimes I’m not. How’s that for a pastor?

    • February 2, 2015 at 9:23 pm

      Seems like most pastors I know. Y’all aren’t immune.

  2. robshep
    January 28, 2015 at 9:23 am

    Larry, I try. I try to go to be at a decent time. I also prepare by asking God to speak to my heart. On the drive to church I play worship music to get my mind focused.

  3. Jon Stallings
    January 28, 2015 at 1:44 pm

    I ask our congregation often what are they expecting on Sunday morning. Did they come with the mindset that they will meet God in worship. – If it can go wrong on Sunday morning for a family getting ready for church it will go wrong.

    To be honest, even as a pastor I often struggle to answer the questions you posed. I try to pack whatever stuff I will need on Saturday night. Sunday morning I limit or completely exclude tv and radio. Then I pray for God’s grace and mercy.

    • February 2, 2015 at 9:22 pm

      I think pastors are people, so you aren’t immune to what the rest of us are afflicted with.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

