Home > Blogging > How Watching The Fantastic Four Trailer With My Son Changed My Mind

How Watching The Fantastic Four Trailer With My Son Changed My Mind

I watched the Fantastic Four trailer yesterday like many geeks did.  I say geeks with much love because I count myself as one.  Of course, sometimes I’m a nerd, but I digress.

I have not looked forward to this movie.  There are a lot of reasons why.  I liked Josh Trank’s, the director, Chronicle when it came out a couple of years ago.  However, I’ve been afraid that movie would look like a “fantastic” version of that and I really didn’t want to see another version of that.

I’ve heard that there were all sorts of problems that have gone on.  I read that Fox seriously came close to firing Trank and bringing in someone else at the last-minute.  The rumors about the script have troubled me.  What I’ve been afraid of is that this movie would be totally unrecognizable from the source material, which holds a huge soft spot in heart.

So, once I saw the trailer, I might have written and posted the following tweet.

Then something happened.

I decided to show the trailer to my son, Andrew.  Following his viewing of it, his reaction was, “That looks cool.”

I was stunned.  I immediately began trying to figure out how I could feel lukewarm about it and he could like it.

Then it hit me.

He doesn’t really know what the Fantastic Four is.  He has never read the comic books.  He hasn’t seen the original movie, nor the rise of a certain Silver Surfer.

He looked it without the jaded view that I have developed over the past year.

And I realized that many of us need to look at things the way Andrew does.  We need to drop the baggage we attach to things.  We need to give events and people chances.  Whatever we encounter, we need to take a look with fresh eyes.

If we did that the world would be a better place and we would all be a lot happier.

What was the last time you looked at something with a fresh perspective?

Categories: Blogging Tags:
  1. January 29, 2015 at 5:35 am

    I think when i went to the movie to see Taken 3 and watched movie trailers. Some looked totally dorky and others intrigued me.

  2. robshep
    January 29, 2015 at 9:13 am

    This is so right on. Negativity breeds negativity. The only up side to having a jaded view about a movie going in is when it surprises you. I didn’t look forward to the first F4. My expectations were so low I didn’t hate the movie. It’s not great, but I didn’t hate it. I went into the second one thinking it would build on the first. Because my expectation was higher I wanted my money back. Rise of the Silver Surfer is straight awful. I still own it on DVD because it’s superheroes, but it’s awful.

    • February 2, 2015 at 9:20 pm

      Yeah, I get them all whether I like them or not myself.

  3. Jeff Elliott
    January 29, 2015 at 1:17 pm

    Reminds me of the end of Ezra chapter 3, Larry.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

