Home > Christianity, Faith > The Myth Of Life Balance

The Myth Of Life Balance

Lately life has been hectic.

Work has been busier than ever.  We have all of the other things going on in life.  There are some family dynamics that are in flux that are causing many of us some added stress.  Through all of this, I’ve come to realize something.

Life balance is a myth.

We simply are unable to devote equal amounts of time to everything.  For example, I sleep about six hours every night.  Work takes up nine to ten after driving and working over some.

What do I not do?  I don’t spend that same amount of time with my family.  As I write this, I have seen my daughter for a combined total of around fifteen minutes at best today.  She’s on her way home and I’ll see her for five or ten more if I’m lucky.

My time with the Lord?  Doesn’t come near that.

I’ve spent some time running and walking.  I watched a basketball game a little bit ago.

It’s just impossible to truly balance my time.

So what do we need to do?

We need to determine what we value most.  What our “treasures” are.  Treasure is valuable, right?  That means whatever we value most will be our treasure.  We need to determine what those values are and focus on them.

Jesus said that where our treasure is where our heart will be.

I’m not sure I want anyone to audit my life and give that report.

Instead, I need to audit.  Make some changes and some cuts.  Put my “big rocks” in the bucket first.  Then everything else will kind of take care of themselves.

Do you ever struggle with what you devote your time to?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: ,
  1. February 4, 2015 at 6:54 am

    Sure do. during the winter I sometimes struggle with staying up doing jigsaw puzzles or reading. In the summer it is cycling. Balance is hard work.

  2. Ricky Anderson
    February 4, 2015 at 9:01 am

    This is one of my biggest struggles. I go through life feeling like I’ve got a tiger by the tail.

  3. Ed
    February 4, 2015 at 9:29 am

    All the time. I think that even if the days were lengthened, rather than shortened, we still wouldn’t have enough time. Mind you, I speak as a disabled, non-working person. So that frees up about 8 hours of my day. I also don’t drive around as much as I used to.

  4. robshep
    February 4, 2015 at 9:33 am

    YES.

  5. jonstolpe
    February 4, 2015 at 12:13 pm

    All the time. All the time. All the time, Larry.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

