Home > Christianity, Faith > How’s Your Race Going?

How’s Your Race Going?

I ran today.  Actually it was yesterday as you read this.  Then again, I could have run early this morning.  I suppose I could get lost in trying to say this the right way.

I’m training to run a half-marathon that’s rapidly approaching.  I’ve run it before, but the last time I did I was still, barely, in my thirties.  Now I’m closer to fifty than I am forty.  I seem to hurt a little more than I did in 2007.

One of the neat things is that there will be people along the way cheering us on as we run.  It makes it a lot harder to quit and walk when someone is clapping, yelling and telling you that “you can do it” in their best Rob Schneider voice.

Here’s the thing, though, as I think about this.  The crowds will be largest in a couple of places.  One will be the start.  A lot of people will be there whooping and hollering as the gun sounds.

The next biggest crowds will be at the finish line in Neyland Stadium.  We will cross the fifty yard line and complete our 13.1 mile race that we have gutted out.  There will be more screaming and yelling as people sprint to the finish line.

*****

I wonder if that isn’t the way our Christian life is sometimes.

We recently had a rash of baptisms at church.  Five one Sunday.  Another the next.  More want to be baptized in the river when warm weather returns.

A crowd of us will gather, whether it’s in the church house or on the banks of the Little River, and cheer and people are gleefully dunked in the name of Jesus.

Then a lot of us will forget about it.  We will not spend any time with those who have given testimony to their saving faith in Jesus.

These new believers might spend a chunk of their race with no one noticing, no one cheering.  They might find themselves lonely, wondering where the cheers they heard early on in their walk with Jesus.

Guess what, though?  We have a fan base of sorts.

Therefore since we have so great a cloud of witnesses……let us run with endurance the race that is set before us.

The saints of old are gathered around, watching us, cheering us on.  They’re yelling and screaming, telling us to not give up, to not quit.

They want us to continue.  They don’t want us to quit at mile 12 or 13.  There’s another mile, another tenth, to go.

So let’s keep going.  No need to stop.  There’s just a little ways to go.

Have you ever run a half-marathon?  How’s your race of faith going?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , , ,
  1. February 10, 2015 at 1:07 am

    Hi man,

    I’m interested in your post. It seems very encouraging. Have you ever thought about “why” we post encouragement? Is it a call from God, is it out of awareness and empathy of human need, is it because we secretly need to be encouraged?

  2. February 10, 2015 at 2:19 am

    Love the race analogy, it makes me think of “camp highs”. You have moments in life when you’re on fire and surrounded by people who feed that flame. It’s so easy to feel the Spirit moving in certain settings, but you get back to the real world and it kinda dissipates. Just in the way you said, at some points in our races there will be people cheering us on, and handing us water, and at some bends we feel as if we’re running alone with heavy legs. What do you do for yourself, or others, in that time? Got me thinking, and I like that.

  3. February 10, 2015 at 8:12 am

    To answer your question: no. I never have and never will. The body does not cooperate on running. My race is picking up.

  4. jonstolpe
    February 10, 2015 at 8:13 am

    I’ve run 5 half marathons (and a few full marathons). As for my faith race, it’s going well right now. But this isn’t always the case to be honest with you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

