Home > Christianity, Faith > Just Another Snow Day

Just Another Snow Day

The original forecast for was for some brief and minor snow yesterday.  It really wasn’t supposed to do much.  However, the best laid plans of mice and men, you know.

So I woke up at my normal time of 4:30 a.m.  Yes, that’s the time I wake up almost everyday, whether I like it or not.

School was out, so Jan decided to stay home.  I headed out so that I could stop and get some gas.  Just a couple of miles down the road, I got the word.  Work was delayed until noon.

I turned around to go home.  The roads were terrible and I thought it might get better as the day went on.  As I came back home, I climbed the hill toward my home sideways, barely avoiding getting stuck.  The snow continued until it got worse and worse instead of better and better.

I decided to stick it out at home and work from there.  I was able to help those of my team who made it by logging in from home.

Now, I had the choice.  I had a decision to make.

I could let the situation completely throw me off my game.  I could let myself get down because my schedule was off kilter.  I could complain about the snow and ice.

Or.

Or I could just praise the Lord.  Not for anything in particular other than the Lord being good.

It really comes down to that in life.  The Lord is good.  In all of our circumstances.  Good.  Bad.  Indifferent.  The Lord is good.  In all of the snow, while my truck was sideways, when I warmed up from coming in, the Lord was good.

I have to remind myself of that sometimes.  I forget it, like so many others do.  Like the Israelites would forget how the good the Lord was in bringing them out of Egypt, I forget.

So, yesterday was just another snow day, but not really just another snow day.

Do you ever forget how good the Lord is to you?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: , ,
  1. February 25, 2015 at 7:34 am

    Tami sent me a picture. Better you than me. 🙂

  2. robshep
    February 25, 2015 at 10:21 am

    We had the same thing here. It wasn’t even supposed to snow last night and it snowed cougars and brontosaurs.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

