Home > Christianity, Faith, Family > Who Should Your Best Friend Be?

Who Should Your Best Friend Be?

Who is your best friend?  Do you have one?

I have struggled with this all of my life.  I had a few best friends when I was young.  I didn’t for a while and then I did when I was in college.

What about now?  Do I have one?  As a matter of fact, I do.  I talk to this friend every day and we have lunch fairly often.  We do a lot of things together.  When I have something that is truly bothering me, I can count on this friend for the support I need.  Who is it, you ask?

My wife.

This is the way we were created to be.  My wife and I are opposite in so many ways.  If you graphed our personalities, they would be almost a mirrored reflection of each other.  She is super organized and I am not.

The thing about it is that, like Rocky Balboa said, “I’ve got gaps.  She’s got gaps.  Together, we fill gaps.”

Now some of you may be taking me to task, tisk tisking a bit right now.

Isn’t Jesus my best friend?

No.

Jesus is my Lord.  He’s my Savior.  And He is a friend.  But I’m not sure that He wants to be my best friend.  I think that’s why He gave men and women spouses.

In the beginning, God created a woman for man.  Man needed that.  Man needed someone who could back him up.  Someone who would be his best friend.

Is your spouse your best friend?

Categories: Christianity, Faith, Family Tags: ,
  1. March 2, 2015 at 2:50 am

    I absolutely agree with you. It is always a good thing that your spouse is your best friend.

  2. March 2, 2015 at 6:56 am

    I have a best male friend whom I stay in contact with (since college which was oh so many years ago). Jo is my best friend all around.

  3. robshep
    March 2, 2015 at 10:01 am

    My wife is my best friend. I also have some close guy friends that I value greatly.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

