Home > Blogging, Family > How I Raised Two Perfect Children

How I Raised Two Perfect Children

If someone asked me how I have raised two perfect children, my answer would be simple.

I didn’t.  I havent.  They aren’t.

That doesn’t mean that they aren’t great kids.  They haven’t caused their mom and me a moment of real heartache.  They are really good kids.

Sometimes people will comment to us how really good they are.  Eventually they will ask how we have managed to do such a good job.  I’ll joke around and say that it’s because of their mom.  That is certainly a huge part of the reason.  I hope that I played a part too.  However, it really boils down to one major thing.

We listen to our kids.

Several years ago, when Lauren was in elementary school, she asked Jan a question about why she was older than a school mate’s mother.  This led to a discussion about how sex works.

Jan could have beaten around the bush about it, but instead used it as an opportunity to build her relationship with her daughter.  We have had countless opportunities to do this with her since, as well as with Andrew.

These have been opportunities for us to draw closer to our children.  Instead of pushing our children away, we have built our relationships over years.  Our children, in turn, listen to us and take us seriously because we have listened to them and built those relationships.

How have we raised perfect children?  I laugh even writing that sentence.  To sort of quote the country group Alabama, though, they’re “close enough to perfect for me.”  I look forward to watching them continue to grow over the next few years.  It’s going to be an exciting time.

Are your children as perfect as mine?

Categories: Blogging, Family Tags: ,
  1. March 3, 2015 at 8:37 am

    Nope. more. I also lie a lot as well. 🙂

  2. March 3, 2015 at 8:37 am

    Mine are about as perfect as their father…and I know where that goes.

  3. jonstolpe
    March 3, 2015 at 9:20 am

    Yep! I can resonate with your post. We aren’t perfect parents, and our kids aren’t perfect either, but we’ve done what we can to point them in the right direction.

  4. robshep
    March 3, 2015 at 9:45 am

    Mine are too young to tell. I hope to foster the same kind of relationship with my kids that you had with yours.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

