Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > How To Change The Culture

How To Change The Culture

I don’t know about you, but I grew tired of the culture wars some time back.

You know what I mean, don’t you?  The culture is going to heck in a hand basket.  So what are we going to do?  We’re going to protest this.  We’re going to boycott that.

Best that I can tell, none of it worked.

The denomination I used to be a part of encouraged all of us to boycott Disney years ago.  How did that work out?  Well, I watch Marvel movies, ABC television and last year went to Walt Disney World.  We’re contemplating going on a Disney cruise next year after both of our kids graduate.

Somewhere in there I realized that it wasn’t working.  So what does work?  How can we change the culture?  After all, it desperately needs changing.

We aren’t going to change it by raising a ruckus.  The culture won’t change by making a scene.

It’s going to change by changing one heart at a time.

It’s going to happen by when people are changed.

How it that going to happen?

By loving people.  By being there for them.  By not abandoning them.  By showing the that you care.

Just the opposite from boycotts and protests.

How are you going to change the culture?

Categories: Christianity, Church, Faith Tags:
  1. Steve Y
    March 4, 2015 at 9:00 am

    Great thoughts. One heart at a time.

  2. March 4, 2015 at 10:18 am

    I don’t know that has ever been a time when I have jumped on a bandwagon per se. I have expressed my thoughts but never protested, boycotted, or flat out denied supporting a business because of their “sexual orientation stand.” I have never been convinced that changes anything (except peoples’ perception of Christ-followers). I go for the heart change.

  3. robshep
    March 4, 2015 at 10:31 am

    Stephen Haggerty and I were talking about this the other day. It is way easier to stand at the door of a church and declare what you are against. It’s way easier to keep the messy people away. Real change involves getting to know, listening to, loving, and investing in messy people. Great post.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

