Home > Christianity, Church, Faith > How Desperate Are You?

How Desperate Are You?

You are desperate.

You probably don’t want to admit that.  It’s not something that we like to about ourselves.  I know that I’m not crazy about the idea.

As a teenager, you were desperate for that girl or that guy.  Maybe it was those Nikes that people weren’t sure how to pronounce, or a little later the Air Jordans that everyone wanted.

Maybe it the boombox or parachute pants.  It could be that new Mac that just hit the market.  You know, the one that will make everything alright.

It could be the new job you desire or the winnings from the lottery.  Maybe you’re just desperate to get out of jail.

You’re desperate for something.

*****

Every Sunday we sing a handful of songs at church.  It’s one of my favorite times each week as I join my fellow church family members in worship.

One of the songs that we sing is called Breathe.  You’ve probably heard it.  It has a line that talks about desperation.  It goes, “And I, I’m desperate for You.”

This song discusses our desperation from a different point of view.  Instead of being desperate for the normal things, it shows that, instead, we should be desperate for God.

*****

I sing those lyrics every few weeks when the song makes it back into the rotation.  I love the song and it helps move my heart toward worship.  There’s just one problem, though.

I feel like I’m lying when I sing those particular words.

I’m not desperate enough for Him.

I’m not as desperate for Him as I am for Tennessee football.

Or a movie.  Or TV show.

Or the lure of what money can do.

You name any number of other things and I am more desperate for them that I am for the Lord who saved me through His work on the cross.

And I’m desperate for that to change.

How desperate are you?

Categories: Christianity, Church, Faith Tags: ,
  1. Ed
    March 10, 2015 at 2:15 am

    This is really beautiful Larry. To answer that question is not easy: I am desperate!, so desperate, so separated. that I hunger for Him every moment of every day.

  2. March 10, 2015 at 8:17 am

    I like that song also Larry and like you, it is convicting. I find myself at times just as this song says. Other times…not so. May my (and your) hunger consume us.

  3. robshep
    March 10, 2015 at 10:58 am

    Jesus hit on this when He said, “Blessed are the poor in Spirit for they will inherit the kingdom of Heaven.” To be poor in spirit is to be broken before God. We don’t become desperate until we become broken. It’s out of desperation that we experience Heaven.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

