Home > Christianity, Faith > How Is Your Journey?

How Is Your Journey?

Life has been a struggle lately.

We had about three weeks of bad weather to basically end the winter.  Snow, ice and snow and ice to end February put a damper to what had been a fairly mild winter.

Once that was over I managed to get sick.  Last week was tough as I ended the week on the ill side.  I went to the doctor only to find out that they couldn’t do anything for me and I would just have to wait it out.

On top of that, due to all of this weather and sickness, my training for a half marathon I have been planning on running this month took a nosedive.  In fact, I had to drop down to a simple 5K because I’m just not going to be ready to run 13.1 miles.

So, here I am and the worst condition I find myself in is dry.  I’m thirsty.  Of course I mean that I am dry and thirsty spiritually.  I’m not where I need to be.  Life’s circumstances have dealt me a blow over the last few weeks.

In the past, I would have stressed over this condition.  I would have worried and fretted.  This time, though, I’m not worrying.  I’m taking a different approach.

*****

When I look at the saints in the Bible, I find that many of them find themselves in the same exact condition that I currently find myself in.  They find themselves feeling distant from the Lord.  They wonder, sometimes, if it would be better if they simply died rather than living in the condition they find themselves in.

You especially find this in the Psalms.  David and those other guys often seem to really feel apart from God.  They struggle through life seeking the Lord, but feeling like He is so far away.

The key is that they don’t stop pursuing.  God seems to be taking them through a journey to Himself, but it sin’t a straight line.  Instead it’s full of twists and turns that they can’t seem to imagine.

That’s the way life is for us too.  That’s the way life has been for me.  Nothing big. Nothing too dramatic.  Just circumstances that are pushing me along unfamiliar paths that aren’t the most comfortable.

And you know what?  He’s there.  He’s waiting.  He’s taking me on a journey.

He’ll do the same for you.  He’ll take you on a trip that you might not choose for yourself, but when it’s over, you will be closer to Him that you’ve ever been.

How’s your journey?

Categories: Christianity, Faith Tags: ,
  1. robshep
    March 11, 2015 at 9:52 am

    Right now I’m tired. Not like sleep tired. Emotionally and physically tired. I’ve taken some steps to take some time off to try to regroup. Love that God is so close to hold us in time of need.

  2. March 11, 2015 at 5:13 pm

    I’m on the hunger and thirst part of the journey.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

