Home > Blogging, Church, Faith > Are You Honest?

Are You Honest?

I think there is something that all of us who write blogs and such can be guilty of.  It really isn’t hard and it may be our human inclination to do this.  I know that I am not even tempted to do it.  It just comes natural.

It’s not showing our true selves.

I don’t mean that we’re totally dishonest as we write.  It’s just that we aren’t totally honest.  We put our best foot forward and try to hide our worst side.  We don’t want to show our ugly side.  We want everyone to think the best of us.

It’s not really any different in the church.  We want to be all smiles and happy.  We want everyone to think our lives are perfect.  We want the world to think that once we come to the Lord that our lives are easy.

What’s the effect of doing that, whether while writing a blog or living inside the church?

We risk being hypocrites.

We don’t live authentic lives.

We aren’t honest before the Lord.

How do we live honest lives with each other and in the world?

First, we have to live honestly within our communities.

I watched a Rich Mullins video the other day.  He kind of laughed at the idea that people would put a lot of stock in what musicians have to say.  He said that they, musicians, were good at putting chords together and stringing some lyrics along with them.  He said that they were good at entertainment and he commended their entertainment to people.

However, he said that if you wanted something spiritual to go to church where people loved you.  I can’t say that I disagree with him.

If we truly are part of communities where we’re loved, whether it’s in church or in a blog, then you can be honest.  You can be yourself.  You don’t have to be a hypocrite.  At least, not one that hides behind a mask.

Are you part of a community where you can be yourself?

Categories: Blogging, Church, Faith Tags:
  1. Ed
    March 16, 2015 at 2:59 am

    Sadly me and community don’t mix. But I’m an artist and I need (emphasize) to express myself. But the more I do express myself, the less people seem to care.

    • March 16, 2015 at 9:14 pm

      I think you have to keep trying for community. The Trinity is a community of sorts and I think they model what community is for us.

  2. March 16, 2015 at 6:59 am

    I can’t totally be myself due to my position. However, there are some guys I can do that with.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

