Home > Blogging, Christianity, Faith > Have You Found Your Calling?

Have You Found Your Calling?

There’s been a lot of talk on these here Interwebs about finding your calling.  I definitely understand the desire to find out what you are “supposed” to do.  I’ve struggled with this very thing for much of my life.

Before I got married I had decided to split for seminary.  I knew that I was called to ministry.  How did I know this?  Because I was totally unhappy with my life and I was also searching for my relationship with God.  Where better to figure all that stuff out than while training for ministry, right?

Somewhere in there I changed my mind.  I knew that I needed to buckle down and get on with “real life.”  I worked and started a family.  Through it all, I struggled.

The thoughts of seminary kept coming back.  Finally, we moved to Louisville, Kentucky and spent a year in seminary.  It was the hardest year of my life and we returned home after a year.  However, somewhere in there, I realized that a calling doesn’t necessarily mean following what others believe that calling entails.

Since 20o2, I have preached at a campground on Sunday mornings.  I joke that I am not an itinerant preacher.  Instead, I’m a preacher with an itinerant congregation.  I’ve built a lot of great relationships over the years and been able to proclaim Jesus during that time as well.

My friend, Jeff Goins, describes our calling as an ache that only fulfilling that calling will satisfy.  I have to agree.  Jeff wrote his latest book, The Art of Work, to help people find their calling.  I received a digital copy, but I’m not going to read it until I get my actual hard copy.  I’m old school that way and how I roll and whatever other cliché’ you can think of .

Here is what I can tell you.  Get Jeff’s book.  I’ve read everything else that Jeff has written.  I know that this book will be another that I love.

Have you found your calling?  How do you know?

Categories: Blogging, Christianity, Faith Tags:
  1. robshep
    March 17, 2015 at 8:39 am

    I feel like I did. It’s confirmed by the community that I live in and the way I see God using what He’s called me to.

  2. Jon Stallings
    March 17, 2015 at 3:18 pm

    I would say I have Larry – bu tit has been a long an winding road to get here. I felt called when I was 16 to be a pastor – but my route was not the normal college / seminary. – It also does not always look like I thought / want – I know it is called to be a Pastor by the fruit and how I feel like I fit despite what chaos may be going on around me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

